rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

portobello road market, london

leave a comment »

I love me a good market and London has LOADS of good ones. After my brother and I had parted ways in London, I trekked back to the city with my cousin (who has been living in London for a few years now) to spend some quality girl time.

I had two objectives on this lovely London day: 1) find an old map of Singapore/Southeast Asia and 2) eat something good.

Portobello Road Market featured pretty prominently in our guide book and has been around for ages but cousin had never been. I picked it because I heard there were a few antique map vendors here which would up the chances that I would find a nice map to commemorate my Southeast Asia livin’.

There are plenty of pubs, restaurants, and street stalls to enjoy on Portobello Road. The darn thing goes on for ages.

There are also a gillion people milling about so don’t go here if you’re not prepared for crowds.

It was well into lunch time so we started with some paella.

The rice was very… toothsome. The shrimp was tasty but not very market walking-friendly since it required some maneuvering to get the shell off. Just imagine trying to deshell the shrimp while standing and with the crowd pictured above. Not pretty. Overall, good but not the best paella I’ve ever had. The little bowl set us back GBP6.

Next, Dimple (that’s my cousin’s nickname) picked a tray of fried goodness. It was mostly shrimp with a few crab claws with imitation crab meat packed on it. We shoulda grabbed some of the sauce they offered but we sorta skeddadled away from the stall to get out of the sun. In any case, no reason to complain about deep fried seafood. I *think* the plate was GBP5 or so. By the way, that’s a rubber band at the bottom there.

We couldn’t deny ourselves some dessert and we went for crepes since the smell of them permeates every corner of the market. We kept it simple and got it plain with sugar. So lovely.

I did end up finding a nice map of Southeast Asia from 1908 it only set me back about USD20! Looks all smartpants and sophistimicated in the new casa. Missions accomplished.

Portobello Rd Market: [at the writing of this post, their official website portobelloroad.co.uk was down so I used the Google Place page instead], easy access via Ladbroke Grove or Notting Hill Gate tube stations

Written by joann

October 25, 2010 at 1:09 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

