rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

brotherly love

leave a comment »

The brothers are in the Bay for Spring Break. We hit up a bunch of malls and tired ourselves out for plenty of hours. I dragged them to the Tofu House on Lawrence for lunch. I usually go to the one in Palo Alto but the one on Lawrence is the one that intro’d me to Korean food and it’s closer to my new pad.

We had the spicy pork bbq, beef bbq, combination soft tofu, and the seafood bibimbap. The bibimbap gets this nice toasty layer of crusty rice from the hot stoneware. Their banchan was different – kimchi radishes, regular kimchi, bean sprouts, pickled cucumbers, and some other cabbage thing with gochuchang on it. I missed the soft-kinda-sweet potatoes and the noodles at the PA Tofu House. The brothers ranked it a 7.5 out of 10. Not bad for a first trial run.

After more mall-hopping we had dinner at Black Angus (they picked). They didn’t put my dressing on the side, the vegetables were hella overcooked, and it was generally overpriced. Will not be returning. The brothers gave it a 6.5. I would have given it a 4.

We are super full. I also jacked up my nearest attempt at Japanese Cheesecake. Sigh. Third time’s a charm?

Written by joann

April 5, 2007 at 11:47 pm

Posted in american, bay area, korean

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

