rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

i heart macaroons

leave a comment »

Paris was a struggle. I do not speak a lick of French and we had no guidebooks with us (I know, we’re smart). We ended up having to settle for the tourist-friendly but taste-challenged brasseries near the hotel. Before heading to Paris, I did know that I wanted to track down those famous Pierre Hermes macaroons that I had read about on other blogs. I couldn’t figure out where his bakery was located but I did find the address to Laduree (right on the Champs D’Elysee just a few blocks from the Arc du Triomphe). We shelled out about 6 Euro for the bag of macaroons – pistachio, raspberry, raspberry almond, chocolate, and vanilla flavored.

macaroons

I feel sorry for anyone who has not had the sheer pleasure of eating one of these suckers. They are light and airy in texture, slightly crunchy on the outside, creamy and cakey on the inside. They are worth every penny. If you’d like to buy yours truly a birthday present, please send a box of these. My favorite is the raspberry almond (that’s my best guess at the flavor since it was in French but it was almondy and bright red but def not strawberry flavored).

macaroons

Drooling all over the keyboard now. YUM!

Written by joann

May 29, 2007 at 7:05 pm

Posted in dessert, europe, french, travels

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

