rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

pomp & circumstance & cake

leave a comment »

I’ve popped into Kee Wah Bakery a few times but have never bought anything. I had scoped out some of their cakes and decided that Chris’s graduation was the perfect occasion to try one out. For a little over $20 I got an 8″ taro cream cake.

It was really nicely decorated with grated, toasted coconut on the side and little balls of honeydew and cantaloupe along the top with two crisscrossed maraschino cherries. There was also a nice chocolate pattern all around the rim. Inside was a layer of cream and taro filling sandwiched between two layers of light, fluffy vanilla cake (almost like a chiffon cake). It was some darn good cake – not too sweet or too heavy with a lot of interesting textures and flavors.

Since I was on the run, I also grabbed a hot dog bun at the bakery ($1.10). I don’t have a picture of it as I inhaled it in about .2 seconds.

A+ for Kah Wee. I’ll be back to try out all their other goodies very soon.

Written by joann

June 8, 2007 at 11:53 pm

Posted in bay area, dessert

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

