rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

hungry sundays

leave a comment »

A few weekends ago I had a bout of domesticity and homesickness that resulted in a Filipino cooking marathon. Using the Filipino cookbook a coworker got me for my birthday last year I tried my hand at menudo and pork adobo. I gotta say, I think Ina (my grandma) would be proud. đŸ™‚

My mom didn’t make menudo very often growing up but it’s really one of my fave dishes. I was pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to make. Just a quick saute of a few cloves of garlic, half a large onion, 1 large carrot, and 1 large potato – everything gets cubed. I used about a pound of cubed pork labeled as ‘stew pork’ which means it had a thick layer of fat that I left on some pieces and trimmed down on others. Once you have all of that cookin’ away in your pan, add half a cup of tomato sauce (and salt to taste). Simmer until potatoes are cooked through. Serve over steaming rice.

menudo.jpg

I used about 5 pieces of the “stew pork” to make a small serving of pork adobo.  All it took was about a cup of vinegar with a third of a cup of soy sauce, 3 peppercorns, and 1 bay leaf, a little onion, and a few cloves of garlic. I sauteed the garlic and onions before browning the pork and adding vinegar and other flavors. I simmered the entire thing for 2 hours (adding water whenever the liquid level fell). The result was super tender and delicious.

adobo.jpg

Written by joann

July 15, 2007 at 9:39 pm

Posted in filipino

Leave a Reply

