rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

lemony goodness

leave a comment »

It’s only Tuesday but it’s already been a long week at work. What else can I do but treat myself to a cupcake? I was too lazy and it was too late to make cupcakes from scratch so I used Duncan Hines Deluxe lemon flavored cake mix. To make it kinda special I made the frosting from scratch using another recipe from handy dandy allrecipes.com.

Cream Cheese Frosting

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup of butter, softened
  • 2 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 cups of powdered sugar
  1. Cream together the cream cheese and butter.
  2. Add sugar and vanilla. Blend until smooth.

I used the snazzy KitchenAid to do all the mixing which means there was very little effort involved (except for maybe clean up). I think the hard core mixing from the KA made the cupcakes extra soft and fluffy. The cream cheese frosting was smooth and not too sweet although I think the vanilla extract could probably be pared down a bit. I didn’t have muffin tins so I had to use the foil liners. Sadly, they didn’t quite fit on the cookie sheet so some of the cupcakes were weirdly shaped. Whoops. Overall I give myself an A- on this one. Tastes good but coulda been prettier.

lemoncupcakes.jpg

Written by joann

July 18, 2007 at 12:21 am

Posted in dessert, recipes

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

