rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

trader joe’s frozen gnocchi

with 3 comments

I’m trying a few new things from Trader Joe’s this week. The first of three experiments I’m posting is frozen gnocchi. I was pretty skeptical about this. The best gnocchi I’ve ever had was at Emil’s restaurant in San Jose. We made them fresh for a cooking class and got to eat them afterwards. But who has time (or skillz) to make real gnocchi? Not me.

gnocchibag.jpg

I paired this with some chicken that I cubed and seasoned with salt and pepper before stir frying (just briefly enough to get a little crunchiness on the outside). For the gnocchi put 1 tblsp of water into a pan and put the gnocchi in. It comes with frozen discs of tomato sauce but I also added a generous helping of Ragu chunky tomato sauce. I’m saucy (heh).

So A for Trader Joe’s on this one. It’s cheap and easy and actually tasty. The mozzarella is the real deal and starts melting and stretching in the pan which is a nice touch. The one thing I don’t like is the shape of the gnocchi. They have these little ridges which make them look like grubs. Thought of eating bugs = icky. Shudder.

frozengnocchi.jpg

Written by joann

July 30, 2007 at 9:14 pm

Posted in experiments, italian, taste tests

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi,
    Can you provide the full ingredients of the “gnocchi” Frozen food-

    Thank you.

    G.H.

    February 17, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    • hey gh, according to a quick google search these are the ingredients: gnocchi (water, durum wheat semolina, dehydrated potatoes, salt), tomato pulp, tomato, mozzarella cheese (pasturized milk, salt, rennet), sunflower oil, onion, basil, salt, garlic, wheat starch, sugar, white pepper, chili powder.

      source: http://www.peertrainer.com/DFcaloriecounterB.aspx?id=9633

      joann

      February 18, 2009 at 11:32 pm

      • They’re supposed to have the ridges. I made them with my Italian grandmother. You use the tynes of a fork to roll them. The ridges fill in somewhat when the gnocchi is cooked. I don’t think I’d like gnocchi without ridges.

        Christine

        December 30, 2009 at 11:13 pm


Leave a Reply

