rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

trader joe’s thai green curry

leave a comment »

I didn’t always like curry. In fact, I think I pretty much hated it. My theory is that in my old age my taste buds are dulling (or maturing) so that things I hated before are not as overpowering as they used to be. Included in this list: cilantro and curry.

My favorite is yellow curry but I found green curry sauce at Trader Joe’s and figured I’d give it a shot.

  • 1/2 lb of chicken (I used two medium sized boneless/skinless thighs)
  • 1/2 of a medium onion
  • 1/2 cup of sugar snap peas
  • 1 medium potato
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 cup of Trader Joe’s Thai Green Curry Simmering Sauce
  • olive oil for sauteeing

I chopped up everything except the snap peas and sauteed the garlic, onions, and chicken in the olive oil. I boiled the potatoes in water so that they would cook faster. When the potatoes were tender, I added them to saute. I threw in the snap peas last and pour the curry sauce in. Let the whole thing simmer for 5-7 minutes over medium heat.

The curry is heavy on the kaffir lime and the cilantro so if you like those two flavors, you’ll like the sauce. Each bottle makes 6 servings. The recipe above is for about 2 servings. I’d def buy again (until they come out with a yellow curry sauce in which case green is out of luck). As always, serve over steaming Jasmine rice.

thaigreencurry.jpg

Written by joann

July 31, 2007 at 8:14 pm

Posted in experiments, recipes, taste tests, thai

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

