rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

black bean noodles

with one comment

blackbean.jpg

Black bean noodles have intrigued me since I watched Witch Yoo Hee a few months ago. Yes, that’s a Korean drama. Anyway, they slurped up these noodles all the freakin time and it looked so GOOD.

I had my first encounter with jajangmyun about a month ago after Yelp reviews led me to Tong Soon Garden on El Camino. The meal itself was ok but not as great as the Yelp reviewers claimed. I didn’t get to fully appreciate the noodles since there was lots of other stuff on the table to try.Fast forward to today where I was bored and hungry. I figured today would be a good day to try my own hand at the black bean madness. The results? Success! My recipe is a mix of some of the Korean [mykoreankitchen.com] and Korean-Chinese [Julia’s Kitchen] versions I found on the internet. I have no idea if this is how it’s *supposed* to taste like but I finished off my whole bowl. YUM.

Ingredients (makes 2 servings)

  • 2 tbsp of fermented black bean paste (NOT sauce!)
  • 2/3 cup of water
  • 1 small carrot, cubed
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 1/4 lb of sliced pork (I used pork butt but most recipes use pork belly)
  • 1 tbsp of minced ginger
  • 1 tbsp of minced garlic
  • 1 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with 1 tbsp of water
  • 1/2 tsp of sugar
  • noodles (however much you want to eat!)
  • salt to taste

Method

  1. In a nonstick skillet stir fry the black bean paste for 3 minutes. At the same time, set a pot of water to boil.
  2. In a wok, saute the ginger and garlic. Add the pork.
  3. Add the onion and carrots.
  4. When the veggies are cooked, add the stir fried bean paste, water, and sugar. Stir.
  5. Cook noodles in the boiling water for 3 minutes.
  6. Add the cornstarch and water mixture to the sauce. Mix thoroughly. The sauce should get thick and creamy.
  7. Put the noodles in bowls for serving.
  8. Pour sauce on top of noodles and SLURP away.
Written by joann

September 9, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Posted in experiments, korean, recipes

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] made their way over. Stuff like ‘bean noodles witch yoo hee’ (which I have a perfect post about!), ‘plaza premium lounge airport’ (which I stayed at a few months ago), and […]


Leave a Reply

