rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

nutella rice krispy treats

with one comment

I had a random craving for Nutella this weekend, but unless I could find a few recipes I couldn’t really justify investing in a whole jar of the stuff. Luckily, I found a few inspirations online and I trekked over to Safeway to pick up a bottle of the yummy chocolate hazelnut delight. During my Europe travels I enjoyed a lot of breakfasts with Nutella. It even came in small individual packets. I dunno why the US has not embraced Nutella as much as Europe has.

Anyway, I didn’t have eggs so I had to abandon my initial Nutella plans. That and I was feeling lazy. Instead, I present to you Nutella rice krispy treats.

Apparently, you can just substitute Nutella for any recipe that calls for peanut butter. Who knew? Not me. I couldn’t find an actual recipe for these treats (although many a recipe alluded to them as a tasty variation of the childhood favorite). This made a little less than half of a square 9 inch baking pan. I got about 14-16 little 2.5/3in pieces.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp of butter (less butter than usual since Nutella has its own fat)
  • 2 1/2 cups of miniature marshmallows
  • 3 cups of rice krispy treats
  • a dash of vanilla extract (optional)
  • a gigantic heaping tablespoonful of Nutella (I have no idea how much I used, I stuck in one of the biggest spoons I could find and threw it into the mix)

Method

  1. Melt the butter in a large pan (I used a wok).
  2. Throw in the marshmallows and the Nutella.
  3. When it’s all melted, take your pan off the heat.
  4. If you have it, this is the time to throw in the vanilla extract.
  5. Throw in 2 cups of the rice krispies and mix. Add the last cup in smaller batches until you get the desired consistency – less if you want it chewy, more if you want it bar-like.
  6. Mix until you have the rice krispies well coated.
  7. Press into a buttered pan.
  8. Allow to cool and then cut.

Tips

  • Hurry up! The marshmallows get crazy when they cool down so you have to work fast.
  • Butter your spatula so it doesn’t stick to everything.
  • Use a silicon pan if you don’t want it to stick.

Did you know that Nutella is made by the Ferrero company? You know, the folks that make those well-foiled chocolate candies. Who knew? Again, not me. You don’t have to ask if these were any good. It’s a rice krispy treat laced with Nutella. What about that would NOT be good? 😛

Written by joann

September 23, 2007 at 10:42 pm

Posted in dessert, experiments, recipes

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm.. I might just have to try that =D

    Aidan

    August 24, 2008 at 10:33 pm


Leave a Reply

