rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

machan – taj hotel, new delhi, india

with 2 comments

tajmahal.jpg

It took 4 plane rides but I finally made it to the Taj Mahal in Agra this past weekend. Pretty awesome right? Love’s greatest monument did not disappoint.

On our way back to the airport, Mr. Kuggi, our awesome driver/tour guide, took us sightseeing around Delhi. For lunch we ended up (fittingly) at the Taj Mahal Hotel, a swanky 5 star establishment not far from Delhi’s famous sites. The hotel has a number of different restaurants. We settled for the all-purpose, safari-themed Machan. Machan refers to the platforms that they used to build on top of trees so that royals could spot game during expeditions.

machan.jpg

I had the chicken tikka grilled sandwich which was served with ranch potato wedges and a side of cilantro chutney. As with most Indian food, chicken tikka probably has a dozen different spices and flavors involved. It’s also marinated in yogurt and grilled which gives it some intense flavor. I love me some good cilantro anything so I was a happy camper with the chutney. My only complaint with the dish was that some of the chicken pieces were super dry. Too dry to eat even and I had to pick them out.

machan2.jpg

We are making the most of our time in India by feasting on naan and roti at every meal. We’ve learned that the difference between the two is that roti is made with wheat flour and naan is not. We’ve also decided that our favorite is garlic flavored naan. At Machan they drenched them in butter (probably the ever present ghee aka clarified butter aka pure fat) which my taste buds liked but my heart probably was not so happy about.

The food was good, the service was typical of what we’ve been getting in India (slower than what you’re used to if you are from the give-me-my-food-now demanding ways of California), the prices were pretty steep, and I did see a cockroach. It crawled on my bag which gave me a jolt and scurried away towards the wall.

machan3.jpg

We had a trio of dessert – the Machan sundae, wildberry gelato, and walnut gelato. I thought they were pretty disappointing as the gelato was icy. The sundae was your typical sundae – chocolate and vanilla ice cream, chocolate sauce, berry sauce . Eh, it was alright.

Machan @ The Taj Mahal Hotel: 1, Mansingh Road New Delhi, India 110 011

Written by joann

October 17, 2007 at 5:34 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] ricecakeconfessional wrote a fantastic post today on “machan – taj hotel, new delhi, india”Here’s ONLY a quick extractAs with most Indian food, chicken tikkas probably has a dozen different spices and flavors involved. It’s also marinated in yogurt and grilled which gives it some intense flavor. I love me some good cilantro anything so I was a happy … […]

  2. Very interesting!

    reeta

    October 18, 2007 at 9:10 pm


Leave a Reply

