rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

bahay kubo breakfast

with 3 comments

Before I left my godparents very generously offered that I stay at their bougie new house in Malolos during my stay. My godmother specifically recommended that I have a breakfast of champorado with tuyo in their bahay kubo. It turned out being my favorite meal of the entire trip.

bahaykubo.jpg

My godparents’ bahay kubo is situated in a corner of their backyard and beautifully constructed of bamboo. That particular morning was rainy which gave us a nice breeze and we sat there for a good hour reminiscing, laughing, and eating.

champorado.jpg

I think I love champorado because it makes me feel like I’m five years old. Not just a regular five year old but a five year old with an awesome prize. My Tita Tane made this batch using regular rice and sticky rice. Cook the rice using double the water recommended for regular rice cooking and add cocoa powder and sugar. Use unsweetened cocoa powder so you can control the sweetness yourself. Stir until a porridge consistency and the rice is cooked. Top it all with evaporated milk – we used the PI-staple, Alaska brand.

tuyo.jpg

Yah this is weird. Tuyo is dried fish that you fry up before serving. Somehow the sweetness of the champorado and the saltiness of the fish make for a perfect compliment. I kid you not. I ate both of these dishes together at the same time. It’s weird for most but uniquely Filipino and delicious for some. 🙂

Written by joann

October 28, 2007 at 5:53 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. pwede ko bang magamit ang pictures ng tuyo at ng champorado mo? 🙂

    eNocH

    January 15, 2008 at 4:17 am

  2. sure! as long as you credit the pictures back to my blog. 🙂

    ricecakeconfessional

    January 19, 2008 at 2:17 am

  3. […] You can’t tell in this picture but the chocolate is mixed with plain budbud kabog to mimic how you add milk to champorado. Still don’t remember? […]


Leave a Reply

