rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

happy birthday joan(n)!

leave a comment »

Yay! I’m older! It was my birthday last week and I celebrated with Filipino food, karaoke, drinks and dancing (in that order).

First, the co-workers surprised me with a cake from Goldilocks. (Isn’t that nice that they also celebrate my Filipino-ness?) To make it extra special they made the ultimate no-no and spelled my name wrong. Yes, on purpose. I feel the love!

happybdayjoan.jpg

Then I dragged everyone to Patio Filipino where we ordered enough food to feed me until my next birthday. In addition to the kare-kare and sinigang that I’ve already featured on the blog. We also ordered gambas al ajillo – shrimp in oil, garlic, and paprika. It was shockingly bright but not overly spicy and the shrimp was cooked perfectly.

patiofilipino2-1.jpg

We also had traditional lumpiang shanghai. Golden, brown, and delicious.

patiofilipino2-2.jpg

Of course, I had to order some pancit canton. My mom reminded me several times, “don’t forget to eat noodles today!” This was the one dish that I thought Patio didn’t do as well. It was pretty mediocre as far as pancits go.

patiofilipino2-3.jpg

Fried pork in the form of lechon kawali. Don’t worry I remembered the Mang Tomas sauce.

patiofilipino2-4.jpg

Finally, for dessert I had the turon. Their version is rolled with chocolate which I thought was a little overpowering for the yummy plantain.

patiofilipino2-5.jpg

Happy Birthday to all the Scorpios out there!

Written by joann

November 12, 2007 at 9:56 pm

Leave a Reply

