rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

that one pho place

with one comment

This is terrible. I can’t remember what the name of this pho place is called. I think maybe ‘Pho Bowl’? In any case, it’s that one pho place in the Ranch 99 complex on McCarthy. If you’re facing Ranch 99, it’ll be on the right. As far as I know, it’s the only pho place in that complex.

I try to lure my parents to new places to eat whenever they visit. Sadly, they always pick pho. It’s not really something you can easily get it in H-town so I guess I kinda understand the appeal. Kinda. I have a favorite pho place in Mountain View but haven’t found the equivalent in my not-new-anymore neighborhood. I’ve been to this pho place a few times. This time the entire place smelled of Clorox. I guess that means it’s clean?

We got some spring rolls and fried rolls to start us off. Heavy on the lettuce and the vermicelli. Pretty standard.

pho3.jpg

Now on to the pho….

pho.jpg

I take my pho with lots of lime, a few bean sprouts, a generous squirt of hoisin and sriracha, and 2 slices of jalapeno. I opted for the steak pho. The broth was good but not great. The flavor is just not that robust. I’ll stop by for convenience but for really good pho, my favorite place is still Pho Nam in Sunnyvale. 3***

Written by joann

January 6, 2008 at 5:39 pm

Posted in bay area, vietnamese

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm, I don’t often each jalapeno with my pho, but I put TOOONNS of siracha on it. So delicious!

    Check out OneVietnam’s article on PHO! http://talk.onevietnam.org/pho/

    Isabella Nga Lai

    March 11, 2010 at 2:56 am


Leave a Reply

