rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

no 9 fisherman’s grotto, sf, ca

with one comment

cioppino.jpg

Confession time again. I hate driving in the city (thats San Francisco for the non-Bay Area folks). In fact, I never do. Ever. Unless I’m DD and have to drive everyone back at night. Imagine my dismay at having to drive to the city during the regular bustle of a sunny holiday weekend. Sigh.

Took awhile and a giant detour around Embarcadero traffic to finally get to No. 9 Fisherman’s Grotto at Pier 39 where I met up with old college friends. Yvs and I shared a bowl of cioppino. I’ve had cioppino once before at the pier. That time around it was heavily flavored with anise seed and soupier.

This time was different. The bowl was smaller (but still enough for me and Yvs), was mostly crab, had a few pieces of shrimp and maybe a few clams, and was more saucy than soupy. They also were shiesty on the soup. You can see from the picture above that only about a third of the bowl had tomato sauce in it. The taste of the sauce here was much better with less anise flavor but a good balance of other Italian spices.

The bowl is about $30 or so (pricey!) and you get lots of sourdough to dip into it. They offer dorky looking paper bibs for messy eaters. Head upstairs if you want a regular sit-down restaurant experience.

Yvs and I made sure to get our $30 worth. 3***.

cioppino2.jpg

No. 9 Fisherman’s Grotto: #9 Fisherman’s Wharf (down the ways from Pier 39, about 2 blocks) San Francisco, California 94133

Written by joann

February 19, 2008 at 9:01 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I was making a fashion statement with the laminated-paper bib…that being– “get out my way, I’m damn hungry!!!”

    Jerry Gonzales

    February 25, 2008 at 9:27 pm


Leave a Reply

