rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

nutrition house/five loaves & two fish

with 2 comments

Sigh, finally all fresh and clean after a long day at work. I teed up a bunch of new posts for the next few days. Lots of frozen yogurt, HK reminiscing, and LA adventures to come…

==

Yah dude I know the title is a bit weird. The English name for this place is Nutrition House. The Chinese written on the marquee is apparently ‘Five Loaves & Two Fish’. Psh that totally makes sense.

I ended up at this place after an odd run to Gamba Karaoke this past Sunday. Side note: I don’t know why people karaoke anywhere else. Gamba seriously rules. Anyway, back to the food. I had never been before even though it’s in my friendly neighborhood Ranch 99 shopping complex. This place is open until 2am which is perfect for late night munchies. Even though it was midnight on a Sunday there were plenty of folks around (and not the rowdy kind that hangs out at Quickly).

nhouse.jpg

First up on the menu was salted fish chicken fried rice. I really liked this one probably because I like salty fish. Of course, you get the bits of egg, peas, and carrots mixed in too. The rice was good – slightly sticky and not too separated a la Uncle Ben’s style.

nhouse2.jpg

Fish with black bean sauce. Seasoned okay but I thought the fish wasn’t firm enough. The super soft texture threw me off a bit.

nhouse3.jpg

The noodles looked really sad but tasted good. Sad = limpy noodles and limited veggies. Surprisingly, it wasn’t too greasy and the noodles weren’t overcooked. It could have used some brighter vegetable add ins but overall was not bad.

nhouse4.jpg

Crispy walnut shrimp. I think this is one of those dishes that Chinese restaurants put on the menu for non-Chinese people. What’s not to love about fried shrimp, mayo, and candied walnuts. Yvs liked this one since she gave up land animals and rice for Lent.

In summary, a solid place to hit up for late night eats in the South Bay. Yelp reviews mentioned that they have free milk tea which BOO we did not get but also mentioned that things were greasy. That wasn’t the case for our food. The total for 6 people was less than $40 and included rice, tea, and another veggie dish that I didn’t include above. Find this place sandwiched on the Maruichi/Quickly side next to Hot Pot City. Opens early at 6am and closes late at 2am. 3***

Nutrition House aka Five Loaves & Two Fish: 496 Barber Lane Milpitas, California 95035

PS. I better get my free milk tea next time Nutrition House! I’m down with the milk tea!

Written by joann

February 20, 2008 at 11:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmmm, Free milk tea? I must have offended the lady because I sure could have used a little sweet treat at the end of this meal.

    Jerry Gonzales

    February 25, 2008 at 9:24 pm

  2. I know right! I was pretty sad when I found out that usually give it out for free and we didn’t get any! Sheesh.

    ricecakeconfessional

    February 25, 2008 at 11:27 pm


Leave a Reply

