rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

gelayo gusto, mountain view, ca

leave a comment »

I’m at home sick today, hence the midday update.

I’ve eyed this place and its ‘frozen yogurt’ sign for a while. A Yelp investigation confirmed tart frozen yogurt and I headed over for a post-work Friday night treat last week. The place is really cute inside and the owners were very nice. Lots of good variety on the menu – sandwiches, cakes, salads, and most importantly, yogurt. You can pick from blueberry or original and they have a decent selection of toppings to choose from.

gelayogusto.jpg

I opted for a medium sized original with cherries and mochi. The prices are reasonable here and are much better than Cafe Aroma. The medium sized original with two toppings was $5 even. I’m guessing cherries aren’t really in season so they tasted a bit bland. The mochi was good, appropriately soft and a little chewy. The yogurt was tart but icier than I generally like.

I went back again yesterday afternoon after my 2nd visit to the dentist in one day (good thing I like my dentist). I’m nice so I ordered not 1 but 4 small yogurts with mango and mochi. Unlike the cherries, the mango was nicely sweet and she majorly hooked us up with the toppings. Not shiesty at all! Jlin, Julia, and Kevin, the recipients of my frozen yogurt generosity, enjoyed the surprise afternoon treat.

Gelayo Gusto: 856 W. El Camino Real (between Castro and Shoreline), Mountain View, California 94040

Written by joann

February 22, 2008 at 2:00 pm

Posted in bay area, dessert

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

