rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

joann’s no good terrible weekend

with 4 comments

What a terrible weekend. Work + rain + sore throat = bad, gloomy days. Definitely not one of those textbook sunny California weekends. Instead of partying it up at Boss with the rest of the gang for Cindy and Klee’s February Birthday Spectacular (ok, they don’t really call it that), I’m stuck at home in my jammies watching the Disney Channel with my blankie like a 12 year old. Except 12 year olds probably don’t have blankies.

I’ve been contemplating a possible change to my blog template. None of the ones that WordPress has posted really catch my eye. Plus the one I have up is no longer listed which means once I pick a new one… I can’t go back! Fear of commitment. What if the grass isn’t greener on the other side?

Anyhow what do I have to do on this wet and wild Saturday night but to blog? No choice really. Good thing I have loads of pictures that have yet to be posted. For this series, we’re going way back into the picture archives to October and my Philippines adventures.

mangosteen.jpg

First of all, those are not my hands. I do not have man hands. I have dainty girl hands. Those are my Pop’s hands. The alien brain looking biznaz is the awesome fruit known as mangosteen. On this side of the globe, they are often juiced and made the object of infomercials toting weight loss and super vitamin status. Fresh mangosteen is sweet, sour, and delicious. The juice version just doesn’t compare. I’m not gonna hate though since my Dad says that it helps him control his blood sugar.

Unopened, mangosteen is smaller than a baseball with a deep red almost purple skin. Inside are white pulpy sections with big ass seeds. Pop one of the sections in your mouth and enjoy the juices. Careful when chewing because you don’t want to bite into the seed. When there’s nothing left but seed and white pulpy mass, spit it out.

Not a good time to wear a white shirt, the red skin will turn your fingers the same color. Trader Joe’s sells dehydrated mangosteen. It’s just alright.

My all time favorite fruit from the Philippines is atis aka custard apple. Atis is a cousin of the cherimoya and the guyabano, the former of which you can find in some Asian markets.

atis2.jpg

Green and black with bumpy rinds. They aren’t exactly pretty from the outside (or the inside). When I pick out atis from the market I inspect the bumps to make sure that there are no major cracks. You see, people like atis. Worms also like atis. Big cracks = more likelihood for janky worms. Ew. Apparently, they’re ok to eat and they’ll make you sing better. Uh. I’ll keep my mediocre voice.

When the atis is ripe you can squeeze it lightly and pull it apart to expose the cream-colored flesh.

atis.jpg

Apparently, the seeds are poisonous and are sometimes used for pesticide. Thanks, Wikipedia. Pull off one of the soft sections with your teeth and enjoy. If there’s a seed, spit it out. Continue until you are bursting at the seams with custard apple goodness. Tastes nothing like custard or apple. Good atis are sweet and bad ones are bland. There’s a slight hint of sourness but the overall taste is hard to describe.

I’ve graduated (since I started writing this post) from the Disney Channel to VH1’s Rock of Love 2. Quality TV for all. Hope your weekend is going funner and drier than mine.

PS. I’ve started using Google Reader since the number of blogs I frequent is growing and figured I’d make it easier for folks to add my blog to their Reader if they want. The link is in the upper right hand corner – in pink, of course.

Written by joann

February 23, 2008 at 9:51 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh how seeing these pictures makes me miss my mangosteen, atis, and lansones eating days in the Philippines! They sell them frozen at Seafood City in Carson, but I pay like $8 bucks for 3 Atis’s where in the PI I probably could have bought a tree! Okay maybe not a tree, but plenty more!

    Thanks for posting! You make me hungry!

    Yvony

    March 24, 2008 at 8:21 pm

  2. […] or scaly, sweet/sour white flesh inside, big black seeds that you spit out. Kinda looks likes the custard apple’s big, friendly cousin. The juice was yummy – not too sweet with a few pieces of soursop (with seed!) […]

  3. I think the words you want to describe atis are (and this is if it’s refrigerated before you eat a ripe one) creamy, cold sugar. Atis and mangosteen are hands down my favorite fruits! You put up some nice pictures.

    jay

    October 15, 2008 at 11:34 am

  4. I will def agree to your creamy, cold sugar description. I saw big, giant, mutant atis in Taiwan but was already bursting at the seams from lunch that I didn’t get to pick one up. They are probably genetically modified though. I can’t imagine atis the size of your face occurring in nature.

    joann

    October 20, 2008 at 11:19 pm


Leave a Reply

