rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

sagebrush cantina, calabasas, ca

leave a comment »

Warning: If you are one of those people who doesn’t like it when their food touches, do not read this post. This is by far some of the randomest food I’ve put together on one plate. I suppose it’s what happens when you eat at a buffet. Even so, it deserves a warning.

I found myself in Jessica Simpson and Nick Lachey’s old hood after the LA shenanigans at Ritual the night before. I later saw this place on an episode of Rock of Love. Pretty classy right? For real though, Sagebrush is a pretty neat place. Laid back with sawdust on the floors, friendly servers, lots of champagne, and completely unpretentious food it’s a nice way to spend a Sunday brunch.

My first plate included country style potatoes, a tamale, a slice of pizza, and lasagna. The lasagna and pizza shared the same sauce which was tangy and good. It was like some doctored canned version, the kind of lasagna your mom would make. (Not my mom, she doesn’t make lasagna but you get what I mean.) The masa in the tamale was nice and soft but still had that nice mealy texture.

sagebrush.jpg

Check out this shot of Jesse hacking away at the largest rib I’ve ever seen.

sagebrush2.jpg

Round two for me was a tiny waffle with cherry topping and whipped cream. What goes good with waffles? A crab leg and steamed shrimp. Told you it was random. In my defense, at least they aren’t touching.

sagebrush3.jpg

Now for dessert (Round 3). Chocolate bread pudding (yum, love bread pudding) and chocolate fountain fondued strawberry, creme puff, and pretzel. I also threw in a slice of pumpkin cheesecake.

sagebrush4.jpg

Did I mention the champagne? I didn’t have any due to ample liquor consumption the night before. Still, it was nice how easily it flowed to our table. That’s OJ on the left there for you mimosa fans.

sagebrush5.jpg

The place also has a mariachi band that taught us the real meaning to the song La Cucaracha. Champagne brunch set me back about $25 (I think).  3 1/2****

Big ups to Janice’s bf Jesse (featured above with the giant rib) for letting me crash that weekend and footin’ the bill for brunch. Thanks for the hospitality!

Sagebrush Cantina: 23527 Calabasas Road, Calabasas, California 91302

Written by joann

March 2, 2008 at 8:11 pm

Leave a Reply

