rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

sugar and ice, the wynn las vegas

with one comment

Yay back at home! Wrote this entry March 3, 2008…

wynn.jpg

I’m sitting in my jammies (black and white plaid with pink trim – like ’em?) in one of two full beds in my room on the 51st floor of the Wynn in Las Vegas. Sometimes life is good. Real good.


I’ve never flown into Vegas on a Monday. SJC was empty and the Las Vegas airport was blissfully calm. I had my first ever taxi ride by myself from the airport to the hotel. Kinda scary actually – getting into the car with a stranger all by yourself is kinda scary if you think about it. I freaked my mom out a bit but I made it to the hotel safe and $30 poorer.

I poked around my room a bit – turned all the lights on, busted out the complimentary slippers, peeped at the toiletries, played with the window shades. You know, the usual. By then it was 10:20pm and I was huuuungry. Back to the lobby with eats in mind.

I considered this 24 hour café thing but decided against it. I opted for Sugar and Ice which is located at the end of the Esplanade inside the hotel. On the way there I was momentarily distracted by the pink, cream, and grey LV bag that I kind of covet. What do you think? Too trendy?

Sugar and Ice is this cutesy ice cream bar with a small selection of sandwiches and salads. I ended up going for the Cuban pressed sandwich. The braised pork was tender and juicy and nicely offset by the bite of the hardcore (read: you could see the actual mustard seeds) mustard and the sweetness of the ham. It also had some Swiss cheese (pretty mild) and pickle slices (thin enough to not be overpowering). The bread was toasted but still soft. (C’mon everyone knows that the bread makes the sandwich.) Fries were the usual and the dill pickle spear was nicely lacking in that canned taste that you usually get at delis.

sugarandice.jpg

I also got a yogurt parfait which ended up being a major mash up of yogurt, strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, almond slivers, and granola. It was supremely overpriced at $7.50 but was really, truly good and hit the sweet craving I was having. The fruit was fresh and sweet (no icy half-frozen blueberries here) and the yogurt was tart and creamy. I saved the rest to eat for breakfast in the morning. (Edit: I ended up getting this AGAIN my third night and noticed little black flecks – real vanilla bean! WOW!)

sugarandice2.jpg

The entire thing set me back $24. WTH. The sandwich was $10.95, the parfait was $7.50, annnnd the bottled water was a ridiculous $4.25.

I’ve been here for 3 hours and I’m already down $50. I think Vegas is winning.

Sugar and Ice: The Esplanade @ The Wynn Las Vegas, 3131 Las Vegas Blvd South, Las Vegas, California 89109

Written by joann

March 7, 2008 at 10:53 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. $30 cab fare sounds like he must’ve taken the tunnel route. That’s the longer, more expensive cab ride. Cuban sandwich looks great. Didn’t know the slippers were complimentary. I’ll have to bust them out when I get there.

    Gina

    March 5, 2009 at 8:18 am


Leave a Reply

