rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

kabuki, jw marriott phuket

leave a comment »

Real ballas stay at the JW Marriott in Phuket. The place is pretty nice and pretty huge and pretty awesome (and pretty expensive).

Our visions of frolicking in the sand were dashed due to the monsoon weather that met us when we arrived in Phuket. Unfortunately for us it continued without disruption for the entire three nights we were there. Luckily, the JW is a full on resort so there’s really no need to ever leave its premises. Plenty of places to eat, a few shops, lots of pools, a spa, even its own night market.

Our first night in Phuket we decided on dinner at Kabuki which is the sushi place that faces the huge reflecting pool that is the main focal point of the hotel. We posted up right before sunset so we got good seats to the Sunset Ceremony.

Like any good balla, I started my meal with a cocktail – a mango and pineapple margarita. Sweet, tart, and STRONG. They are not stingy with the liquor here.

As a starter, I picked the tuna salad with lightly seared ahi, cucumber, seaweed, and peanut sauce. Very, very good albeit a bit salty. The peanut sauce was just enough flavor without overpowering the tuna.

I picked two rolls the first of which was the ET Roll with bbq eel, tuna, lettuce, cream cheese, and cucumber. Nice presentation right? I liked this too but ended up popping out the cream cheese on my last bite. The richness was starting to get to me.

I just realized I ordered 3 different kinds of tuna. Whoops. The last roll was the negitoro. You know how I love negitoro. Served here with a liberal helping of green onion.

I declined dessert but ended up diving in after my first taste. Quite possibly the creamiest green tea ice cream I’ve ever had. Very milky and no bitterness or soapish aftertaste. I liked it a lot. You also get complimentary fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe, guava) to wrap things up.

This meal was NOT a cheap one. For ballas only. For 4 people (4 starters, 1 entree, 6 rolls, 2 desserts, 4 cocktails) the final bill was $200+ (yes, USD). Buuut, when you’re on vacation… what else are you going to do?

JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa: 231 Moo 3, Mai Khao Phuket 83110 Thailand

Written by joann

May 26, 2008 at 7:35 pm

Leave a Reply

