rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

midwest sushi in california

leave a comment »

Hello World!

It’s been awhile since my last entry but life has been a bit busy these days. You know, pick-up-your-life-and-move-halfway-around-the-world kind of busy. I am just shy of 3 days away from my big move to Singapore. I’m excited and sad all at the same time. One thing is for sure, this blog will have lots of yummy food gracing its pages courtesy of the fine culinary landscape that is Singapore.

Back to the present. I’m in Hanford this week enjoying some quality time with the parents and the brothers. In between the many servings of home cooked food, I ventured to the ‘No aka Fresno. (Sorry, Fresno fans.)

Why Fresno you ask? Well the main reason was because my Kuya John insisted that we try out his fave sushi place and I figured it would be a good time to have a meal with the cousins. The secondary, selfish, and unnecessary reason is that I wanted to buy a new maxi dress (that’s a super long dress for you non-dress wearers) at Forever 21 and Fresno has the closest one. How tragic for Hanfordians that Forever 21 is 40 miles away.

I’m rambling. I’ll get right down to it.

Wassabi lives in an unassuming strip mall somewhere in Fresno. The staff is young and friendly and the inside is nicely decorated a la modern diner. It’s one of those places that greets you loudly when you come in – WASSSAAABI! About 65% of the menu items have sexy themed names usually found on adult film titles rather than sushi menus.

I’m a big unagi fan so I picked up the Bulldog for me and Chris – shrimp tempura, crab, avocado, and cucumber with unagi and tobiko on top.

Now let’s talk about the title of this post. Midwest Sushi. This roll and all other rolls we ordered were gigantic. I’m talkin’ McDonald’s supersize 64 oz Diet Coke big. Not only that, most of the rolls had a fried component or were completely fried. Heavens.

The Pimp Daddy was the only non-fried roll of the day. Don’t feel bad for it though. It was generously decorated with the mayo based Wassabi special sauce. I liked this one a lot – unagi, white tuna, salmon, tobiko, and other veggies. I think this was my fave.

Yah wow. WTH is this. I saw this on the menu as seared tuna tartar. I called the waitress over to ask if it was still served in a roll (since it was in that section of the menu). She said it was. Obviously she was wrong. This one is called the Sexy Sexy. I like to call it really weird.

It’s a giant hockey puck of finely chopped tuna that has been scorched on the outside and then set adrift on unagi sauce. I was really hoping to get something more along the lines of the O-Toro roll at Wasabisabi. V. strange. There’s also a giant ‘less than’ sign made with Sriracha on the plate.

Kuya John swore by this roll called the OMG.

California roll that has been fried up and then dressed with chopped scallops and crab with the Wassabi special sauce (btw that’s spicy mayo with a touch of wasabi). Super gigantic again.

I can’t comment on the sashimi as we didn’t order any but the raw fish in the rolls was quite good. Most of the other diners were feasting on rolls as well. Service is solid and the prices are reasonable.

Overall, 3.5*** for me. Good fish, nice place, but a little tooo supersized for my stilo.

Best sushi roll name: Smells Like My Ex

Wassabi: 1085 E. Herndon Avenue, Fresno, California 93720

Written by joann

July 18, 2008 at 9:40 pm

Posted in hometown eats, japanese

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

