rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

hello from singapore!

leave a comment »

I’m still here and still eating!

A LOT has happened since the last time I posted. I arrived in Singapore about a week ago after spending one week at home with the family in Hanford. Right before I flew to Singapore, my uncle passed away and I spent this past weekend in Manila paying my last respects. I have a few food shots to take you through but my current accommodations don’t make for comfy blogging (no wireless, ill-mounted internet wall connection, you get the picture).

Let’s just start with what I had for dinner. I’ll come right out and admit that I had Subway last night. Weird, I know but I spent the past weekend in Manila which means a lot of pork and a lot of fried goodness. My arteries needed a break, I was craving fresh veggies, and Subway was close by.

Eager to make amends, tonight I popped down to the basement level of the nearby shopping center which houses Meidi-Ya, a Japanese supermarket, and a little Japanese food court.

Pork Chilli Noodles (yes, with 2 L’s) for SGD9 (that’s about USD6.50). I don’t usually like udon but these were suprisingly tasty like giant ramen – chewy but not gummy and very flavorful. There were plenty of green onion pieces, bean sprouts, and chili flakes in addition to the very liberal dose of chili oil. The pork was bacon-style not in taste but in cut. Fatty, thin slices of pork that were very good and not at all piggy tasting (that sounds weird, but I had very piggy tasting – not porky but piggy – soup in Manila that was not good.

The only thing I didn’t like was that the oil was a bit much. I got the soup to go and opening the lid made a huge mess. It’s also bright orange and got on my pjs, the coffee table, the bag it came in, etc. It also made the top layer of soup very oily. I ended up scooping a bit of it out.

I grabbed this at the actual supermarket after picking up some toothpaste and crackers. Set me back a whopping SGD1.10 or USD0.80. Quite good for supermarket unagi rolls.

I’m determined to get back to the blogging swing of things. I have pictures of water buffalo milk candy, my first real meal in Singapore, my favorite fried seaweed snack, and few other gems to share. More to come!

Written by joann

July 29, 2008 at 6:54 am

Posted in japanese, singapore

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

