rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

a roti prata a day… keeps the doctor away

with 2 comments

I think I’m allergic to something in my room because every morning I wake up with allergies. I’ve had to start with the meds again to try and ward off the symptoms. The confusifications (yes, I made that up) happen when I wake up wondering if I’m starting to catch a cold or am just suffering from the allergies. A survey of the office turned up no recognition of the word ‘Airborne.’ Boo.

Anyway. We went to the Chevron Plaza for lunch today which I have to say is going to be a fave. There’s lots of variety at the food court in the basement. There’s even a fruit stand and a kaya toast shop. You remember kaya toast right?

What caught my eye was an Indian guy slappin’ down discs of dough onto a hot griddle. Took me about .5 seconds to decide to queue up.

I ordered it for ‘take away’ and they wrapped two pieces of roti and a piece of fried chicken in some brown paper with a rubber band. The roti was hot and delicious. Stretchy, perfectly toasty in parts, and happy soaking up the gravy/saucy/curry stuff that was included.

I couldn’t find a bowl in the kitchen so I had to go with the teacup instead. There are bits of onion and potato in there. I also located a bay leaf. Very typical Indian flavors in the sauce – your mouth gets dizzy with the spice rainbow (but in a good way).

The chicken was also good. Crispy with that bright red batter that made it spicy but not hot. Still moist on the inside. Also lovely paired with the roti.

For dessert/snack an hour or two later, we had pineapple cake (pictured up top). You could tell these were way fresh. The pastry on the outside was flaky on top and doughy at the bottom – just like hopia (if you’re familiar with the Filipino bean cake). The inside was sweet with an interesting texture like marmalade that has had all the liquid taken out and then has had gelatin added. You can’t taste toooo much of the pineapple but it’s in there.

Another good lunch for the books. Dinner though… dinner was a different story.

Oh and the could-be-cold? Seems to have disappeared for now.

Roti Prata Stall: Chevron Tower Basement Level 1, 30 Raffles Place, Singapore

Written by joann

August 1, 2008 at 10:02 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM i haven’t caught up on your blog for a while and here i come in and see all this missed deliciousness! i will have to check it more often. i LOVE roti prata!!

    Jane H

    August 18, 2008 at 2:37 pm

  2. me too! this was my first repeat meal here. i had roti prata from the same exact stand on saturday. delicious.

    joann

    August 18, 2008 at 9:55 pm


Leave a Reply

