rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

thunder tea rice

with 2 comments

I’ve had a busy busy weekend punctuated by the surprise visit of my godparents. It was a surprise to both of us actually. They got stranded in Singapore after some plane ticket troubles! Let it be known that should you ever find yourself at Changi Airport wasting away I will be happily swing by and save you. Even if I’m mid-cocktail at IndoChine enjoying some jazz music on a Friday night.

Yah, ok the food.

The other folks at work talk about tea rice like it’s a way of life. Some people have it nearly everyday for lunch. Last Friday I decided it was as good a time as any to jump on the bandwagon. Off to Lau Pa Sat I went to queue up for Thunder Tea Rice.

You can get this with brown or white rice (I had white) and each serving look exactly the same (unless you’re finicky in which case you could ask them to leave some things out. From the left, string beans, cabbage, peanuts, ikan bilis, smoked/flaked fish (tastes like tinapa actually), tofu, and this one vegetable that’s green and looks like stars. There’s also some other leafy veggie in there that I can’t identify either.

Where’s the tea?

See the little container with the green stuff? You’re supposed to take that business and dump it over the veggies and fish. To be honest, it kind of tastes like there’s tea in there but it also kind of tastes like cilantro or maybe parsley. No idea. It’s good though. I prefer to use a little bit of the sauce in every other spoonful or so but that’s because I like to enjoy all the different flavors.

So do I understand the hype? Yah, I think I do. Unlike lots of other eats you can find at hawker stalls this one is probably on the healthier side. It’s heavy on the veggies which are steamed and have a nice crunch. The texture is awesome since you get everything from soft tofu to crunchy peanuts to crispy dried fish. I also really like the little dried dilis (that’s the Tagalog word for ’em) in general so I’ll take them in pretty much any meal. It’s fresh and cheap and it fills you up – SGD4.50 or so.

In other news (I apologize for the poor text to picture ratio in this post but I’m dying to talk about it so humor me), I’m officially obsessed with the Twilight saga. Since my last post I’ve read the entire series which is, oh I dunno, about 2300 pages. Now that I’m done and have until November to wait for the movie, I’m a little bored bored bored. Reading suggestions?

Written by joann

August 24, 2008 at 11:51 pm

Posted in chinese, hawker/street food, singapore

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why are the food in plastic containers?

    Bigbee

    August 25, 2008 at 4:45 am

  2. bc we ordered it ‘to go’ known here as ‘takeaway’ or ‘buy back’ or ‘packet’. the food center can get quite crowded and hot so we often buy the food and take it back to the office to eat.

    joann

    August 25, 2008 at 9:58 pm


Leave a Reply

