rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

tanyoto, another steamboat ride

with 2 comments

Next to the Tampopo at Liang Court is Tanyoto. Confusing, I know. Tanyoto is a fancy fancy steamboat place. I didn’t realize how fancy until I agreed to eat there.

We got the ying yang style pot again. On the left is a non-spicy fish based soup. On the right is the common, spicy, date-filled, deep red soup of my last steamboat experience.

Looks pretty much like the last one, eh?

We ordered prawns, beef, enoki mushrooms, and kang kong.

On skewers to make dipping easier and eating harder.

Mushrooms and kang kong. Yippee.

This is the flattest green onion pancake I’ve ever had and also the tastiest. The batter to green onion ratio makes it more flavorful than the doughy kind. All of the edges are nicely crispy too. This was the saving grace of this meal (if you can’t tell).

Bowls of seasoning – chili paste, green onion, cilantro, onion, etc. This looked promising but it’s prepared by adding broth and then using the whole thing to dip your meat or veggies in. What this ish really needed was some freakin’ soy sauce. I found myself hoping that the cilantro would stick to my food better to help with the taste.

I understand now why the last steamboat place was considered to be quite good. The broth at this place tasted frozen. As in, it had this lingering flavor of something that had been frozen before and then cooked before being completely thawed out. I couldn’t tell if it was the broth, the shrimp, or both. I found it off-putting and it made me lose my appetite.

Price of this meal for two people: SGD80+.

Boooo. Don’t like.

Written by joann

August 26, 2008 at 8:59 pm

Posted in chinese, singapore

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow. To think i was considering going there! thanks for the tips.

    elvadrieng

    October 14, 2008 at 10:18 pm

  2. Hi there,

    I have used your feedback for Tanyoto restaurant on our website (having a linkback to your site), hope you don’t mind…

    Btw, we are having this 50% Off Tanyoto Steamboat Buffet deal: http://www.bigdeal.sg/TANYOTO-Steamboat-Buffet.html

    Maybe it’s time for you to pay another visit!

    Cheers. :’)

    Freya

    January 15, 2011 at 12:55 am


Leave a Reply

