rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

makansutra glutton’s bay

leave a comment »

I invested in a Makansutra guide during one of my first weeks in Singapore. It’s supposed to be a go-to guide to good street food. I’ve been slacking a bit in venturing to all the different parts of the island to taste things up but I did make it to Glutton’s Bay at the Esplanade on Sunday.

Glutton’s Bay is a selection of Makansutra’s favorite hawker stands They are a little pricier than regular stalls but as a bonus you get a nice view of the waterfront.

I downed a cup of lime juice right when we got there. (I think I might be addicted to lime juice but that’s another story.) There are just a handful of stalls to choose from: drinks/dessert, kaya toast, satay, roti, bbq, hot pot, char kway teow and other noodle dishes, and Western food.

The Western food surprised me since this one looked kind classy – steak, seafood pasta, etc. I settled on the chicken sandwich which was surprisingly good. Freshly toasted bread, sauteed chicken, lettuce, tomatoes, and a sticky balsamic-y sauce. It reminded me of the tasty chicken baguette I had with Julia and MG at the Four Season’s in Hong Kong. This one was a bit cheaper at less than SGD5.

Not a bad way to spend the afternoon. Definitely a nice place to take visitors to enjoy some eats and take in the view but if you have more than a few days to spend in Singapore it would be way more fun to seek out these dishes in their original locations.

As a side note, ketchup in Singapore tastes weird. It’s too sweet, not tomato-y or vinegary, and has a bright crayon red instead of deep red hue. I’ll need to include that on my list of things to bring back from the US on my next visit.

Written by joann

September 16, 2008 at 11:34 pm

Posted in american, hawker/street food, singapore

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

