rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

ah bolling peanut soup

leave a comment »

One of the first stalls on Smith Street is the Ah Bolling stand. I recognized the name from the guidebooks and made sure to leave some room in my tummy for a visit after dinner.

For a mere SGD1.50 you can get 4 balls in your choice of soup: almond milk, peanut, and I can’t remember the third. The balls come in sesame, peanut, red bean, green tea, and a few other flavors. I used to keep these in my freezer in Mountain View (minus the soup part) but these are a gillion times better than those.

The almond milk is lightly sweetened and a bit watered down. Next time I think I’ll try the peanut soup (a bit of a brain fart for me to not get peanut soup when the place is called Ah Bolling Peanut Soup). The red bean filling is heavy and sweet but the black sesame was my favorite. A little bit salty, nicely grainy, and sweet at the end. I liked the rice flour outside since it’s slightly sticky but not gummy.

There will be plenty of additional visits to Chinatown Food Street.

Written by joann

September 17, 2008 at 8:52 pm

Leave a Reply

