rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

more pizza hunts

with 2 comments

I like pizza. More than I thought I did since I crave it fairly often.

Life in the Bay Area meant I rarely ever had to go out and buy pizza (although, I really love Bagel Bites and always had them in the freezer) since work always had a steady supply. After running an errand to Funan I decided to find some eats at the mall. The escalator led the way and as I reached the first floor Pastamania stood before me in all of its pseudo-Italian glory.

I ordered a 7″ bbq chicken pizza (sidenote: it’s weird how things here switch from US to metric measurements) which cost a little less than S$11.00. I splurged on a peach Italian soda which brought the total to S$14 even.

The last pizza that I had in Singapore was at Central. They were very generous with their toppings but the crust was too bready and dense. In contrast, Pastamania’s crusts is thinner, flakier, and crispier. It was just saucy enough (although I kind of think that it wasn’t bbq sauce) to add flavor while not overpowering or soggying up the crust.

The chicken was just ok, the seasoning was not a big hit with me and I didn’t think it complimented the bbq flavor at all. The onions were chopped coursely and the pizza itself was adequately cheesy. Bonus points that the pizza was not a grease factory like some places.

I’m a fan. This definitely beats the pizza at Central and isn’t as heavy as Pizza Hut. I’d probably spring for different toppings next time though.

The peach soda was pretty good. Kinda like a less sweet, slightly peachy version of Sprite.

Pastamania at Funan DigitalLife Mall: 109 North Bridge Road, #01-08/09

Written by joann

October 5, 2008 at 5:23 pm

Posted in drinks, italian, singapore

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know what you ate at central (mind give me the name?) but pasta mania isn’t exactly famous for their pizza. If you really want good pizza, try Spizza(Bukit Timah), La Pizzaiola or Da Paolo Pizza’s Bar at Holland V. Expensive though.

    elvadrieng

    October 14, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  2. For the life of me I can’t remember the name of the pizza place at Central. It’s on the first floor next to Subway (if that helps any). Thanks for the pizza recs! It’s surprising to me how often I crave it. I’ll have to check those places out.

    joann

    October 20, 2008 at 11:10 pm


Leave a Reply

