rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

tanjong rhu pau & confectionary

with 2 comments

After the nice pizza at Funan, I trekked over to the bus stop and pondered my next move. As usual, my first idea was to go to Parkway Parade, find some stuff to throw together for dinner, and kill some time.

One thing that’s nice about commuting by bus (other than the fact that it opens up more parts of the island than just the MRT) is that you get to see lots as the bus meanders through Singapore’s streets. I don’t usually take the 197 so I was really feelin’ the coffeeshops and storefronts of Geylang which I don’t normally get to see.

As the bus idled at a stoplight this caught my eye.

OMG YUM. I had read about Tanjong Rhu Pau & Confectionary in MS but the one near my house is closed on Sundays. After a short battle of should I or shouldn’t I, I hopped off at the next stop and walked over to the steamy pile o’ bao.

There was a bit of a line when I got there but what was of more concern was that the entire menu was in Chinese. No matter. I asked the nice lady at the counter and she gave me a quick rundown: lotus paste, red bean, and bbq pork for the mini buns and then chicken and bbq pork for the big buns. I ordered 2 steamy mini red bean buns and 3 mini char siew buns.

Even though I was still full from lunch I gave the buns a try. After all, I had to taste them at their peak. (My hands were quite full with stuffing the buns into my mouth and pulling out my bus card so I took most of the pics at home.) First up was the red bean bun. Deeeelicious. The white bun part was thinner than usual but thick enough to be substantial. The dough is stretchy but not rubbery and is a good compliment to the filling. There is a generous amount of dark red bean paste that is sweet but not cloyingly so.

By this time I had settled back into the bus stop so I whipped out a pork bun. These have the pinches and folds on top. The filling is well seasoned and the meat is super red. Very good without the sometimes very tough chunks of uber fatty bbq meat that you get in some buns. Again, the bun to filling ratio was nice.

Snapped this shot to show you how small the minis are – that’s a tealight next to it. Each bun is 70c and the shop also sells other dim sum type items like turnip pastries, egg tarts, and bean curd dumplings. I’ll definitely be back for these. This outlet is where they make them fresh so try this one out if you get a chance. I’ve never had such a fresh bao before. The mini sizes are especially ideal so you can try lots of different flavors in one sitting. Plus you feel a little less guilty than if you had scarfed down one of those giant baos.

Tanjong Rhu Pao & Confectionary: 389 Guillemard Avenue, Geylang, Singapore

Written by joann

October 5, 2008 at 8:04 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ah, the Tanjong Rhu bao! I grew up on these thinner-skinned baos, and still can’t get used to the more doughy, Hong-Kong-style versions outside Singapore. We used to queue for so long that we’d usually buy an entire box of mini baos and share them with my aunt’s family (and vice versa). I’m glad you found the shop!

    If you get a chance, try their lotus paste bao. To order like a “local”, they’re called “lin yong bao”.

    akatsukira

    October 6, 2008 at 11:50 pm

  2. It was such a good Sunday surprise. I can’t wait to go back to the shop! I’ll def try the lotus paste bao even if I stumble over the words tryin’ to order local-style.

    joann

    October 7, 2008 at 10:35 pm


Leave a Reply

