rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

maxwell food center take 1

with one comment

After swinging by the new work digs on Friday, I went with a coworker to Maxwell Food Center to scope out some dinner. After walking up and down the aisles, I settled for a prawn omelette.

I kind of expected there to be onions or mushrooms or some other stuff folded into the omelette but it is quite literally just prawns and eggs (unless you count the 5 bits of green onion and sprig of parsley there). Regardless of its simplicity or maybe because of it, this dish was pretty good.

Served banana leaf style the eggs are scrambled and fried with the prawns mixed in. You get about 4-5 whole prawns that are shelled and deveined. They are cooked perfectly and remain juicy. The eggs have nicely fried edges and the whole thing is served with a side of chili sauce. This is my fave chili sauce of the ones I’ve had in Singapore. It’s got bite but not to the point where your tongue falls off and it’s salty instead of sweet.

It’ll cost you S$4 for the plate which was more than enough for me. I got this one at a stall called Marina South (on the left side of Maxwell, in the middle aisle). Sorry I’m not super descriptive about the location. I’ll have to be sure to take down the stall number next time.

I also had soursop juice from a neighboring stall and it was probably the worst juice I’ve here. Watery and not soursop-y at all. Blech.

Marina South Food Stall: Maxwell Food Center, Maxwell Rd & South Bridge Rd, Singapore

Written by joann

October 6, 2008 at 8:15 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your pictures are really nice, I especially like the Pastamania one. I love their pizzas too!

    nags

    October 9, 2008 at 1:05 pm


Leave a comment