rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

otah is not spam

with 2 comments

But it kinda looks like it.

I have been almost tricked by otah several times. They have buns here with otah filling and if you’re in a hurry the darn thing kinda looks like a piece of fried spam in a pandesal. Anyway.

I had my first taste of otah a few Fridays ago because Chandra was denied rice by the fried tofu stall he ordered from and then was denied rice again by the otah man unless, of course, he ordered otah to go with his rice. Since Chandra is a herbivore, fish-based otah was not gonna happen for him so he passed it off to me.

Otah is fish that has been mashed up and mixed with lots of spices, rolled in banana leaf, and then grilled. When you order it comes out lookin’ like this:

This is a pretty big slab of otah. I’ve seen much smaller versions at other stalls. Notice the little toothpicks holdin’ it together? Once you unwrap your present, you get this beauty…

This picture makes you think my spam comment earlier is totally out of line but I promise you that if cut properly it really does look like spam.

Back to the otah. The texture is pasty and it doesn’t hold up much on it’s own. You can definitely taste coconut milk and curryish spices mixed in with the flavor of banana leaf and fish. I think the taste is probably acquired. I didn’t hate it but I certainly didn’t love it and probably wouldn’t ask to try it again. In any case, something fun to try as it seems to be pretty popular with locals. Another local favorite crossed of my list.

Written by joann

October 13, 2008 at 9:04 pm

Posted in hawker/street food, singapore, singaporean

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I loved otah. I supposed it’s an acquired taste. It taste best with rice or bread. Then again, the otah that I ate do not stick to the leaf. D:

    elvadrieng

    October 14, 2008 at 10:22 pm

  2. Some really wonderful work on behalf of the owner of this web site , utterly great subject material 🙂

    Luisa

    April 11, 2011 at 2:43 am


Leave a Reply

