rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

happy birthday chris!

with 4 comments

chrisbday

I have three younger brothers. Three of ’em. I’m the only girl and therefore my dad’s favorite daughter. Being the oldest and having only stupid boys running around also means I have bossy tendencies. I can assure you that it was a necessity. We can’t have little brothers running amok can we?

The age gap between my brothers and I is big enough so that I can spoil them (read: me and the youngest are 10.5 years apart). The middle one’s birthday is the day before Halloween. This means that when I was 8 he messed up my Halloween because my dad made me and Brother #1 visit him in the hospital. Something about ‘being born’ or whatever. All we got that year were 2 lollipops and some tootsie rolls. Fail.

Back to spoiling. Brother #2 turned 20 this year and like all of us under the Scorpio sign, he is plagued with the high possibility of midterms on his birthday. In addition to this, he’s currently a CS major which makes life, like, 80x worse. (Until, of course, you get your degree, make lots of money, and then push little people such as myself around.)  I’m rambling more than usual today. 

With the help of Facebook, I tracked down someone that looked like a good friend (shout out to Jeff for his help!). After some pondering over flavors and some trouble with the dorm address, I successfully ordered 1 dozen cupcakes to be delivered on his birthday (post-midterm, obvs). Good Friend Jeff had to pick them up to sneak them into Chris’s room which he did with Bond-like stealth. I have to give props to Good Friend Jeff because I messaged him out of the blue, he had never met me before, and I had all kinds of weird requests for him. (Can I give the cupcakery your cell phone number??)

chrisbday2

I ordered the dozen from Cupcake Culture, a bakery in San Diego (Brother #2 goes to UCSD). I picked a split dozen of Strawberry Blondes (strawberry cake, lemon buttercream, fresh strawberry slice) and Morning Sunshine (dark chocolate coffee cake, chocolate buttercream, chocolate covered espresso bean). The entire thing cost a very reasonable USD35 – delivery included. They even piped a Happy Birthday message on top with no extra charge. (If you’re wondering about the message, ateh = older sister in Filipino.)  I also only had to order 2-3 days in advance. Payment was easy, the staff was great, and the cupcakes (per the brother) were delicious. 

I figured that college kids need a little more than cupcakes for sustenance. I know this because I look upon my college days with the memory of the Freshmen 15 that I gained. Why stop at cupcakes? Why not take this party all the way to town?

chrisbday4

Did you know you can order Domino’s Pizza online? Did you know that you could pre-order it so that it arrives at a specific time? Did you know you can get 2 pizzas, breadsticks, and chicken wing thingies plus a 2L of orange soda for USD30? Well, you can. 

chrisbday3

Oh man, I miss pizza. The toughie with pizza delivery is that you have to have the credit card used for payment ready during the delivery. I worked this out though so no worries. 

The point of this post is that: 1) pizza and cupcakes are yummy, 2) this is a fast, relatively stress free gift for people who are living abroad but don’t want to send flowers or a fruit basket, and 3) I’m not good at a lot of things but I’m good at being a sister.

My brother posted this picture on his Facebook post-birthday surprise.

chrisbday5

Halloween birthdays are funny. hehehehe

I tried to send cupcakes to Brother #1 and #3 but there are no such delivery mechanisms in Hanford. Don’t be sad for them, there are plenty of cupcake times ahead for us.

Written by joann

November 24, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Posted in dessert

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He spent my $50 some on that helmet. I told him he could charge it on his Ateh’s card but he won’t do it. Hehehe.

    Dad

    November 25, 2008 at 12:08 am

  2. haha. yay for shout outs! 😀
    Those cupcakes were super delish and the pizza combo was awesome too
    You should come visit ucsd one day!

    Jeff

    January 13, 2009 at 3:10 am

    • I will def visit someday! Sooner if my brother gets outta line!

      joann

      January 25, 2009 at 10:18 pm

  3. […] in Singapore and need stuff to do/eat, please refer to the list below penned by middle brother (aka recipient of birthday cupcakes), Chris. My comments in the fancy […]


Leave a Reply

