rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

summer frost, east coast

with 9 comments

You’ll recall the shaved milk ice love from Taipei 2008. When I got back to Singapore I thought to myself, “I’m in Asia. There has GOT to be something similar here.” Lo and behold a blog I frequent did a post about the very dessert I was looking for. Sadly, they didn’t mention an address so I had to do a little stalking on my own. Luckily a fellow Eastie, Pearl, found the place and sent along directions.

summerfrost2

The place is very cute and is located on East Coast Road across the street from Roxy Plaza. You can get shaved milk ice plus one topping for SGD2.50 or a combo bowl for SGD3.50. Additional toppings will set you back fitty cents. Not bad, right?

My first visit was right before my trip back home for the holidays. I ordered the grape rape (thumbs down on the name) which was champagne grape ice with blueberry syrup and fresh grapes.

summerfrost

This bowl was huuuuge. Wow. I loved it. The shaved ice is so light and airy – like fluffy ice cream. The grapes were fresh, juicy, and sweet. A very nice complement to the hot and humid Singaporean weather.

I dragged Shawn and Sarah there on Sunday after lunch at dim sum down the street. I wanted to try some new combos and this was the perfect time to bring accomplices. I made my own combo this time with black sesame milk ice, banana, and nata de coco. The black sesame is nutty which is good with the banana. I admit the nata was random but I just really like the texture and taste of nata.

summerfrost3

Sarah got something similar to the dish I had in Taiwan – regular  milk shaved ice, mangos, and honey pearls. I liked how lightly flavored the milk ice was.

summerfrost5

Shawn did peanut shaved ice with chocolate syrup, chocolate discs, and strawberries. Traditional dessert flavors done up in a slightly different way. Good choice.

summerfrost4

Summer Frost: 41 East Coast Road Singapore

Written by joann

January 11, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Posted in chinese, dessert, singapore

Tagged with

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! Thanks for this! I am so going to check it out this weekend 🙂

    nags

    January 12, 2009 at 9:18 am

  2. Pls do! And call me if you need company. 😛

    joann

    January 12, 2009 at 9:54 pm

  3. I must say the chocolate discs remind me of kibbles. :3

    The Makansutra picture of Grape Rape seems a little different in color from yours; guess they adjusted it too much. And oh, you may want to check out the relevant article in The New Paper (if you haven’t already).

    Anyway, great pictures. I’m glad I stumbled across your blog.

    Anon

    February 18, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    • you can be assured they don’t taste like kibbles!

      thanks for the link to the article, i hadn’t seen it before. makansutra’s picture is so weirdly adjusted. it doesn’t make it look very appetizing!

      joann

      February 18, 2009 at 11:30 pm

  4. OMG !!!

    i never seen it before. i want to try it directly !!!

    thanks for teach me.

    can you tell me more about the honey pearl ? what is it exactly ?

    really it look great. i’d like to try it and know how they do it.

    Mouth

    March 27, 2009 at 3:05 am

  5. @mouth – honey pearls are smaller versions of boba/tapioca balls/pearls that are often mixed in with milk tea. same consistency, smaller size. def give this place a try!

    joann

    April 7, 2009 at 12:37 am

  6. hey dear do also tried out en-frost cafe, located at Pomo (previously known as Paradiz Centre) level 2! They do had the ice dessert u are talking abt too! I had visited both and i think the one at en-frost cafe is better! A must try!

    carol

    May 14, 2009 at 3:49 am

    • thanks carol! i will have to make a visit to en-frost cafe. i also saw another shop at far east plaza that deserves a try.

      joann

      May 24, 2009 at 2:37 am

  7. […] actually ended up here because Steph wanted to try out Summer Frost and, while some might argue that you could have shaved milk ice for dinner, most people need a […]


Leave a Reply

