rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

super secret sashimi saturday

with 4 comments

Ah. Nothing like a little alliteration to start a story.

This is a weird post. I’m not allowed to divulge the location or name of the restaurant we ate at as my accomplice agreed to take me here only if I kept my big mouth shut. She has been previously sworn to secrecy by the orignal discoverer. We waited 40 minutes plus to finally get a chance to eat here. It’s sushi bar style and at any given time the place can hold about 18 people. The queue is long and moves slowly so should you stumble here only commit if you’ve got nothing better to do and aren’t low on blood sugar.

secretsashimi

This place has got rules.

  1. Each person has to order a dish.
  2. You have to order everything you want at once. If you make a second order they charge you a 20% surcharge.
  3. Each seat costs $2. The fee includes a drink – Japanese tea, mineral water, or a soft drink.

They start you off with a small saucer of what my accomplice claims is seaweed with stewed beef and little shrimpies. A little salty, plenty sweet. I kind of think the seaweed is not seaweed. To be honest it looks alien-y or larvae-y and just generally unappetizing. It still tasted good though so I got over the odd shaped *seaweed* and kept at it.

secretsashimi2

The sashimi plate is pretty generous. Big slabs of salmon, kingfish (per my accomplice), scallops, and octopus (not shown, towards the back of the plate). My only gripe is the lack of ginger. I could have asked but the couple that runs the joint are downright scary. I took these pictures all stealth like for fear of being thrown out of the place. It’s kinda like that episode of Seinfeld with the Soup Nazi.

The fish was good. Equal parts firm and soft and very fresh. The only thing I didn’t like was the shrimp which I thought had an odd texture. The scallops were good. I was wary for fear of sand but other than a smidge that I feel like I may have psychologically dreamed up my scallop eating went uninterrupted. I don’t usually eat octopus at sushi places but I liked it. Chewy but not rubbery. No jaw exercises required.

secretsashimi3

Damn this picture is kinda ugly. Again, I was scared of possible spanking from the owners.

We also got cod claypot which was delicious. Seaweed, glass noodles, mushrooms, tofu, lots of cabbage, and big chunks of cod. It arrived at our table steaming and bubbling with a bowl of rice and a saucer of minced garlic, chili, and soy sauce on the side. I love the salty broth and the garlic dip stuff is perfect with the mild cod. I’ve never had this at a Japanese restaurant but it’s nice to add claypot to the usual ramen, sushi, and tempura jfood rotation.

The meal was wrapped up by two pieces of very chilled watermelon. A lovely note to end on.  The meal for 2 cost SGD47. Not too bad for secret sashimi and claypot cod.

Written by joann

January 25, 2009 at 12:31 am

Posted in japanese, singapore

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The owners sound scary… Is it a Mom+Pop type place?

    As for the first dish, I think it is seaweed; hijiki to be precise (photo example).

    akatsukira

    January 25, 2009 at 5:58 am

    • It’s literally a Mom and Pop place. Pop is the cook and Mom serves the folks around the horseshoe-shaped bar. I was a bit scared to be honest.

      Thanks for the hijiki link! I was really starting to think that it was something more suspect but the link eases my mind. 🙂

      joann

      January 25, 2009 at 10:17 pm

  2. ive always wanted to try this place haha i know where it is! anyway i heard the chawanmushi is really, really good.

    Deborah

    January 27, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    • I saw people ordering that too! I like it how it’s a secret but everyone already knows about it!

      joann

      January 31, 2009 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

