rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

baguette: the viet inspired deli

with one comment

I have a love hate relationship with Baguette.

I love them for their crazy good Vietnamese sandwiches and tasty lime soda. I hate them because they are supposed to be open until 7:30 but the two times I’ve gone for dinner – once around 6:45 and the other around 7:00 – they looked at me like I was crazy for trying to get a sandwich and then told me they were closing. When I asked what time they closed (so that I could better plan another trip) they said 7:30. This is where I glance at my watch and raise an eyebrow. Both times they claimed that they close at 7:30 but were closing early ‘just for today’.

Just for today, Baguette? What about just every damn day? Ugh.

My love for them and my craving for a Vietnamese sandwich won out last week. An all too willing Sarah accompanied me on the 15 minute trek past LPS to the small storefront.

baguette

My prize. One toasty, crusty, cilantro adorned, daikon filled delight. I always get the chicken and it is so so good. They throw in a few red peppers for spice and the whole thing is lovely and satisfying.

Since I had made the trek and all I sprang for the spring (heh) rolls too.

baguette2

And then I remembered why I usually don’t get these. They are super pretty looking at Baguette but they are way way way too minty. If you pull the mint leaves out you’re left with some sort of bitter lettuce. On top of that the fish sauce dip just doesn’t do it for me. It’s too sweet and fishy. What this spring roll needs is less minty, more cilantro (bc everything needs more cilantro), and peanut sauce.

Cost for both the sandwich and spring rolls was just over SGD9. You can grab just a sandwich for about SGD5.

Sigh. Someday I will find a closer Viet deli with less unruly service times. Until then my unhealthy relationship with Baguette lives on.

Baguette: 146 Market Street #01-39, Market Street Carpark, (behind LPS) Singapore 048945

Written by joann

January 27, 2009 at 10:56 pm

Posted in singapore, vietnamese

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. great post – will try today for lunch! everything does need more cilantro! 🙂

    jose miguel

    January 5, 2011 at 10:15 am


Leave a Reply

