rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

jones the grocer, singapore

with 3 comments

Yah, this post is totally about Dempsey Hill again.

Before we got into the eats, let’s talk about my arduous journey to get there. I live on the East side of the island which I heart very much. One of the things that I do not heart is that I live on a road that is often closed off and used for marathons, races, and other annoying fitness related activities that I do not care to partake in. When I say ‘closed off’ I mean that they turn off the bus service that feeds into and out of my area. Take the MRT you say? Yah, there is no MRT where I live.

This means during these marathons and races and whatsits I’m pretty much trapped. Not cool. The only way out is by taxi and everyone is scrambling for them so you’re best bet is to call for one. Total taxi fare from my humble abode to Dempsey Hill: SGD17. Ouch.

Whatevs though. I’m getting my darn pancakes – raceathon be damned.

jones

I see this picture and wonder why I can’t have pancakes everyday. A stack of coconut pancakes with fresh mango, vanilla ice cream, and warm maple syrup. Heavenly.

I hesitated a bit with my order since I’m not a huge coconut fan but I’m glad I went for it. The pancakes were fluffy with bits of toasted coconut (and if I’m going to eat coconut you best toast that baby up), a mix of mango – some sweet, some sour – and vanilla ice cream complete with flecks of vanilla bean.

jones2

Extreme zoom in of the sausage I ordered as a savory complement to the ‘cakes. Sausages are always a bit risky – you never quite know what you’re going to get it but these were A+. Juicy without being greasy, herby and flavorful without being complicated.

Total: SGD15 (less than the taxi ride!)

Jones the Grocer, as the name suggests, is also a grocery store. It’s kinda like Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods with fresh pastas, one wall of cheese, $20 saffron flavored cotton candy (wha?), onion jam, and other fancy shmancy gourmet goodies that you don’t *need* but when did that ever stop you anyway?

Jones the Grocer: 9 Dempsey Road, Singapore

Written by joann

March 8, 2009 at 11:10 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this is one of my faves, for some reason. this post i mean.

    made a reservation next week for the agency team here. team dinner 😉

    nags

    March 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

  2. i love that place. great place to chill and watch the time past.

    Going down later in the night!

    Janis

    September 10, 2010 at 2:13 pm

  3. Was searching for Jones the Grocer to see if I can make reservation and underneath the first result is this blog post!

    Hi Joann! Miss you!

    And I’ll definitely try the sausage.

    Lichi Wu

    November 16, 2011 at 3:51 pm


Leave a Reply

