rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

tori-q @ takashimaya

with 3 comments

toriq1

The basement of Takashimaya on Orchard Road is one of my favorite places in Singapore. In general, it’s not that different from the many other food centers on the island so I wonder what’s gotten me so enamored with it. I’ve boiled it down to a few things.

  1. It has a lot of food going on and everything looks lip smackin’ good.
  2. What is a cheapy food basement doing underneath quite possibly the largest LV store I’ve ever seen in my life? Who knows. Maybe if you spend that much on a bag you only have a few bucks left over to eat.
  3. The one and only Sephora in Singapore is in this building.
  4. Two words: Beard Papa.
  5. The ramen place uses the same logo as Maruichi.
  6. Because I feel like it.

Tori-q reels you in because it has that crazy contraption on display that is busily dunking unsuspecting sticks of bbq into a vat of deliciously sticky sauce AND because it has the full on bbq parade happening.

toriq2

Don’t lie. You wouldn’t walk away from this.

toriq3

Clearly, you’d take some home. I’m partial to the pork wrapped asparagus, the chicken with bell pepper, and the chicken meatballs. Each stick is SGD1-2 and you can get a combo meal with rice for SGD5+. They’ll throw in some dried seaweed and pickles too. Sauce optional.

They should make a stick that involves bacon.

Tori-q: Outlets all over Singapore – this one at Basement Level of Takashimaya right behind the Orange Julius.

Written by joann

March 14, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Posted in japanese, singapore

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The machine is pretty cool. 🙂

    jodi

    March 20, 2009 at 3:26 pm

  2. i know! v. hypnotic.

    joann

    March 26, 2009 at 10:06 pm

  3. Hi,

    I was facinated with your products. It is really good. I wonder if you do also franchising. I would like to open up the same business in Manila, Philippines. I hope you can help me. Please do send me more info on how to proceed.

    Many thanks.

    Marietes

    Marietes Lopez

    August 12, 2009 at 11:08 am


Leave a Reply

