rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

jaggi’s northern indian cuisine

with 2 comments

I’m watching a show about that crazy huge Mormon family that has 17 kids. They have found another couple that also has a ridiculous number of kids and shares the same fashion sense. How nice.

A few weeks ago we had a team event (good segue, eh?) that involved running all over Mt Emily Park and shooting each other with 2.5 kilo laser tag guns. As could be expected, 3 hours of non mortal combat can really give a girl an appetite. Since we were in Little India we shlepped over to Jaggi’s which, unbeknownest to me, is a Singapore institution.

jaggi2

First of all, the place is immaculate. Very clean. Even the bathrooms are sparkly. They really took the government sponsored ‘Singapore-let’s-have-clean-bathrooms’ initiative seriously. I can respect that. Nags, Chandra, Pearl and the rest of the crew did all of the ordering while I busied myself with taking pictures.

jaggi14

It took awhile for the food to come but we ordered quite a bit so we (mostly) patiently waited and stocked up on the stainless steel plates and silverware they have on hand. (Even with the poster they still have forks and spoons for those that aren’t as comfortable with straight up hands in their food.)

jaggi7

Naan of every type  –  garlic (the one with the green stuff), cheese, butter, and tutti fruti. Back it up. Tutti Fruti? I don’t know what the actual name is but it’s the same naan dough but has little sweet bits of fruit and stuff in it. Very different but still tasty. The naan was chewy on the inside and toasty and crunchy on the outside. My fave was the garlic. Pat and the rest were fans of the cheese but I found it too heavy and kinda like a pizza with no tomato sauce.

jaggi6

Moist chicken slathered with (I’m guessing here) yogurt and cilantro. Don’t forget to squeeze the lime for some extra tang.

jaggi5

Savory, spicy chickpeas on the right, sweet sauce for the samosas on the left.

jaggi10

Spinach with cottage cheese down below and butter chicken at the top. The butter chicken was creamy and smooth with tender bits of chicken. Yes, it was really that yellow.

jaggi4

More chicken.

jaggi13

A veggie friendly dish of potatoes in a green bell pepper bowl.

jaggi3

Four, giant samosas bursting at the seams with potatoes.

jaggi9

For dessert we shared sugar syrup soaked goodies filled with a light custard. We feared this would be cavity inducing, tooth ache sweet but it was surprisingly just right. Like a syrupy twinkie.

jaggi8

I wish I had a better picture of this. I don’t even like chai and I love, love, loved the masala chai we had to end our meal. It was fragrant and aromatic without being soapy tasting. It was smooth and milky and nicely sweet but spiced. So good. I would come back here just for the masala chai.

jaggi

I didn’t get a peek at the final bill but Nag’s did some takeaway which ended up being SGD25 for loads of food that would feed 2-3 people.

Honestly, I’m not a huge Indian food fan (I’ll eat it but I’ll rarely ask for it.) but I’m definitely coming back to this place. Swing on by if you’re in the neighborhood.

Jaggi’s Northern Indian Cuisine: 34 Race Course Road Singapore

Written by joann

April 5, 2009 at 10:22 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I want to frame that poster and stick it on my wall.

    jodi

    April 8, 2009 at 12:59 pm

  2. thanks for sharing… i love indian food and the naan looks absolutely yummy!

    p.sawyer

    April 9, 2009 at 11:17 pm


Leave a Reply

