rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

oh yes i did

with 2 comments

I had bought a bag of flour to deal with my pancake cravings and had also sprung for some scallions for the cha soba dish that I made. So here we are. Bag of flour. Bunch of scallions. Can you guess what happens next?

Scallion pancakes that’s what. I looked far and wide for an easy how-to and found one here. After a brief pep talk to ready myself for the task, I got down to business and ended up with these.

scallionpancake2

Pretty nice right? I was feeling good and smug about it. Not bad for my first attempt. I used sesame oil to give them an extra kinda kick. They were crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside with lots of scallions peppered throughout. I have big hopes that I can make them even flakier for my next try.

scallionpancake

Did I mention that I fried up an egg to eat with it? So good.

Written by joann

April 12, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Posted in chinese, experiments

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I smell home! I’m sitting here salivating like a dog by the imaginary aroma.

    I have a filter set up blocking anything posted by you between 9pm to 6am when I’m not supposed to eat. But I guess no filter is good enough when you deliberately break it yourself.

    BTW, there is a Google Friend Connect plugin for WordPress – http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/google-friend-connect-integration/ I’m just saying…

    Lichi

    April 12, 2009 at 11:43 pm

  2. angry little asian girls dont like being filtered mr. wu.

    i can’t play with plugins until i get my act together and use the .org version of wordpress (ie host the blog myself) vs the .com version of wordpress.

    joann

    April 13, 2009 at 11:28 pm


Leave a Reply

