rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

cupcakes wars by marmalade pantry

with 2 comments

Let me give you a glimpse into my highly structured and regimented life. Every night I come home and spend a good hour or so perusing my Google Reader feeds. It’s my equivalent to reading the morning paper. My Google Reader is organized into topics like: kstuff (for my kdrama and kpop addiction), pstuff (Mabuhay!), funnies (Milk Toof and FML go here), and food (duh) – among others.

One night I came home to a post from Cupcakes Take the Cake about cupcakes in Singapore. See now this is important because I am oven-less and cannot bake my own cupcakes. On top of that I’ve bought cupcakes in Singapore before and they were not tasty. Nuh uh. They were dry with exorbitant amounts of frosting. They were worse than Safeway cupcakes.

But the cupcake on Cupcakes Take the Cake did not look dry. They looked moist and delicious. Further to that, lo and behold, the place in question is located one block from the office. The hell? Let’s fix this cupcake-less life shall we?

marmaladepantry

I called Marmalade Pantry to make sure they still had cupcakes and they informed me that they had every flavor available still. I wonder about this because they only had one flavor of each cupcake. Did I really get the last cupcake of each flavor? Do they only make 1 or 2 of each type? That’s weird.

Do you notice that on the phone most Singaporean businesses aren’t particularly nice? There’s never a, “Hi, thanks for calling XYZ! How can I help you today?” Is it too American of me to expect such a thing. I’m always surprised to call a business and be greated with a “XYZ.” Hi to you too. Anyway it was no different in the scenario although they were perfectly pleasant to me in person.

I opted for 6 of the cupcakes and left 2 (the lychee/rose one and the red velvet – I’m not a lychee fan and snoozefest on the red velvet).

In the same vein as Pocky Wars and Kit Kat Wars. I gathered the troops together to partake in the fun and cast in their votes.

See the chocolate one on the right wit the yellowish topping? Let’s t alk about that one first. It’s called William – chocolate cake with William pears and vanilla topped with buttercream. This was a fave for some people. They liked the bits of pear and the cake itself was moist and not too sweet.

marmaladepantry3

In the foreground of this picture is (what we think) is just the plain ol’ chocolate cupcake. It was just ok. A bit dry for my liking and anything that doesn’t have frosting is really not a cupcake. This is just a brownie in a paper cup.

marmaladepantry2

The one with the sprinkles (or as they call them in Singapore, ‘colored rice’) is my faves – a coconut cupcake with cream cheese frosting dubbed ‘Cloud 9’. It was very nice, not too sweet, with a nice creamy frosting. To the right lookin like a tiger is the overall winner of the wars – Elvis. Banana chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting. Wooooow. Such a surprise to bite into the cupcake and get a hit of banana along with the chocolate. Add a generous swatch of peanut butter and you have all of us rolling our eyes in deliciousness.

Behind the sprinkled cupcake is Limonata, a simple lemon glazed cupcake. Also tasty although some folks thought that the lemon was too tart. It tasted like a fluffier lemon bar which is a good thing in my book.

In the way back there bringing up the rear is a chocolate cupcake with Nutella frosting. Not super impressed with that one either. I like chocolate cake and I like Nutella but it wasn’t as most as and certainly not as interesting as the other cuppies. I didn’t go back for seconds.

The final winner was Elvis with William not far behind (although I think most people just liked having free cupcakes on a Friday afternoon).

You’re probably wondering how we shared these cupcakes. Very carefully…

marmaladepantry4

MP is pretty pricey and the cupcakes are a little over SGD4 a pop. Special thanks to Pui for the pictures.

What to taste test next?

Marmalade Pantry: 168 Robinson Road 01-08, Capital Tower, Singapore 068912

Written by joann

September 1, 2009 at 11:30 pm

Posted in dessert, singapore, taste tests

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow, I love that you did a cupcake taste test. Even better, I love your blog. I’m linking it on mine!

    kat

    September 3, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    • thanks! imma link back to you too kat!

      joann

      September 6, 2009 at 10:27 pm


Leave a Reply

