rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

hk kim gary restaurant, vivocity

with 2 comments

After I realized that I had never posted about Cambodia I noticed that I basically skipped 3 months of eating out that I’ve been doing in and around Singapore. I had a wave of visitors from California and while we visited my usual haunts we also hit up a few new places. This one is courtesy of Jeff who alongside a misspelled Bible, a milk carton piggy bank, and a bun key chain treated me to lunch as payback for housing him during his Singapore layover.

After Sunday church I met Jeff at Vivocity where he offered up HK Kim Gary (selected due to the queue which had dissipated about an hour earlier) as the lunch spot.

This, by the way, is home of the previously lauded strawberry aloe vera drink.

strawberryaloevera

Man I love that drink. Have I mentioned the maserated strawberries and fresh aloe vera? So refreshing. I’ve hyped it up so much you will not give two craps about it when you taste it but oh well.

This is one of those places with a super long menu with everything from spaghetti to bibimbap to fried pork chop to borsht.

Yes, borsht.

hkkimgary3

We shared a small bowl of fries that I want to say had some five spice on them. They came piping hot from the kitchen.

hkkimgary

Did I mention the borsht came with a set meal? It was paired with…

hkkimgary2

Seafood bibimbap. Yah I don’t get it either. I like this a lot. First of all, it looks exactly like the picture in the menu which is always a good start. Next look at the shiny giant yolk and the unagi and sugar snap peas and kimchi and squid. All ingredients for a party if you ask me. The set meal is about SGD15 if I recall correctly.

I would def go back (duh since I took my brothers there) but I don’t think I would wait in line for this place.

BTW, you do your own ordering here. They leave pencils and paper menus for you to fill out. Just call the server over when you’re ready.

HK Kim Gary Restaurant: 1 Harbourfront Centre Walk #02-128, Vivocity Mall, Singapore

Written by joann

September 12, 2009 at 8:56 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info.
    I am glad that you

    shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us
    up to date like this. Thanks for

    sharing.

  2. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing

    abilities and also with the layout on your

    weblog. Is this a paid topic or did you modify it

    your self? Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it’s

    rare to look a nice weblog like this one these days..

    kd8jhj.blogspot.co.uk

    April 27, 2013 at 11:30 am


Leave a Reply

