rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

sandwich frenzy

leave a comment »

I was in a sandwich frenzy a few weeks ago. Every few days I would think of another sandwich I wanted to whip up. Every recipe I came across became a sandwich. Seared tuna steak? Carne asada tacos? Do they come in sandwich form? Yes, yes they do.

carneasadasandwich

My parents sent me lots of food when my brothers visited. Among the poptarts and goldfish was a jar of carne asada rub. I rubbed it into some flank steak, pan fried it, and sliced it up. Underneath is an avocado salsa (not ripe enough for a guacamole) with onion, cilantro, and lots of lime. Spinach and a toasted baguette top it off.

tunasandwich

Same avocado salsa this time a little riper so it’s creamy. I lightly seared some tuna cubes that were seasoned in garlic salt and ground black pepper. More spinach and more baguette. Yuuum.

sandwich3

Last in line is this shredded bbq chicken sandwich with arugala, cilantro, and mozzarella cheese on a super toasted crusty baguette. I boiled the chicken, shredded it up, sauteed onions in a pan and added the chicken and several spoonfuls of bbq sauce. I could use one of these right now this minute.

How about you? Cookin’ up anything interesting these days?

Written by joann

October 5, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Posted in american

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

