rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

travel cafe philippines, greenbelt 5

with 3 comments

I am so fatchin’ tired. There are about 80 other things I should be doing – cleaning my house, paying my cable bill, ironing some clothes, sleeping since it’s well past midnight – but here we are blogging. Yay for messed up priorities.

I just got back from a few days in the Philippines and unlike most of my trips I got to actually stay in Manila for awhile. My dreams of moving to Manila to work have slipped off the radar since I moved to Singapore but were sorta kinda resurrected by the 3 days I spent exploring and enjoying the city life rather than the usual weekend of hanging out in the bahay kubo all up in the province.

In the middle of what I like to refer to as Meeting Marathon Tuesday (not to be confused with Meeting Fun Times Monday), Lianne and I had time to grab a real lunch at Greenbelt 5.

philippinestravelcafe

Lianne let me pick between Travel Cafe Philippines  and another Spanish restaurant whose name escapes me. TCP won because we found it first and because I was not feeling the urge to revisit my people’s colonial oppression. Kidding. I was also wearing 3 inch heels and carrying my stupidly heavy laptop so really finding it first meant sitting down sooner which was the idea overall.

philippinestravelcafe2

PTC is pretty cute inside. A bit dark with slightly unflattering track lighting but I suppose it gives it a cozy type of atmosphere. The place itself is supposed to be some amalgamation of a cafe, coffee shop, and travel agency.

I’m not sure why it has to be all of those three things but at least the food is good.

philippinestravelcafe3

Lianne ordered munggo cream soup in a pandesal bread bowl. I took a bite and thought it tasted mostly like bacon. I love munggo though so I would have appreciated more of the straight up munggo flavor. No comment on the pandesal bowl since I didn’t taste it.

philippinestravelcafe4

I ordered their signature salad which was yums. Those are adobo flakes on top which basically render the entire dish a success from the start. Scattered around are hard boiled quail eggs, shitake mushrooms, tomatoes, and quesong puti (literally, white cheese – a very very mild, basic, super common cheese in the Philippines). The dressing was slightly citrusy with a base of the quesong puti – not super creamy though which was nice.

philippinestravelcafe5

Because I’m easily susceptible to the power of suggestion, I had to have some pandesal the minute I read the word ‘pandesal’ on the menu. It wasn’t the best one I’ve ever had but I wouldn’t turn down another if I met it again on the street especially if it brings it’s friend, melted butter.

philippinestravelcafe6

I ate a salad. I deserved some dessert.

This was called suman sushi. Suman is the name for the sweet glutinous rice cake thingy that the cherries and mangoes are sitting on. It’s also part of the rolls in the background that are wrapped in crepes. From the back left – ube, melony sago, langka, cherries, watermelon (thanks Captain Obvious), and mango.

I ate most of this because Lianne wasn’t very hungry and I have no shame. The entire meal plus hot tea and water was pushing P1000 which is SGD30 or USD21 depending on how lucky you get on the foreign exchange.

Travel Cafe Philippines: 2nd Level Greenbelt 5, Legaspi St, Legaspi Village, Makati, Philippines

Not to excite you too much but the weird flavored Pringles post is coming up tmrw. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m sad that we’re not Twitter friends. I warn you that my tweets are often not food related but instead are gripes about missed buses, bad hair days, shopping predicaments, annoying people and weird Singaporean signs.

Written by joann

October 30, 2009 at 12:55 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HI!i would like to ask do you offer visa assistance in this restaurant. thanks!

    kristine

    October 20, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    • no idea, christine. maybe give ’em a call and check?

      joann

      October 21, 2010 at 12:55 pm

  2. always choose your travel agency very well, you would not really want to deal with those rip-off travel agents -,;

    Optocoupler

    December 3, 2010 at 10:09 pm


Leave a Reply

