rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

unnecessary pringles flavors

with 8 comments

I have enjoyed the extensively modified potato chip that is the Pringle for many years. My favorite flavor is a toss up between sour cream and onion and salt and vinegar. Imagine my amusement when my cousin and I were cruising Carrefour and saw these babies on sale for SGD4.80 for 2 cans.

pringles

At first the grilled shrimp and seaweed flavors didn’t phase me too much since I’ve had seaweed flavored things before and I love a nice salty bag of shrimp chips. Then my cousin explained that the real kicker is that all of these flavors would be on top of that distinctive crispy crumbly Pringles chip.

Then I got a little worried.

But I bought two cans anyway because hey you gotta live a little.

I settled on the soft shell crab and the grilled shrimp. The shrimp for sure was coming home since the chip was straight up pink. The seaweed stayed behind since, like I said, I’ve had plenty of seaweed flavored things before. My cousin was hoping I would forget about taste testing them when we got home. But I thought of all of you dear readers and journeyed onward.

The grilled shrimp ones are in fact pink and in fact taste shrimpy. Not as shrimpy as, say, shrimp chips but nearly. They are not as salty and the chip itself is not as crispy. Not sure if this is due to the ridiculous humidity, an older tube of chips, or the flavoring they use.

pringles2

Sadly, the soft shell crab was not interesting looking in the least. Typical plain looking chip without even a speck of fake herbs or seasoning. I don’t quite understand why it’s specifically soft shell crab but it actually tasted like dried squid. You know the kind that you get in the bag from the grocery store that is kinda stringy. That’s the aroma and the taste you get.

If I had to eat one of the two I think I would eat the soft shell crab even if it is poorly selected flavor name. And that concludes our trip down Pringles lane.

Written by joann

October 30, 2009 at 7:00 am

Posted in snacks, taste tests

Tagged with

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. did the soft shell one also give you bad breath like the dried squid does? I don’t know if I ever believed it, but people would say the squid gave bad breath and the eater would never notice…

    kat

    November 8, 2009 at 8:36 am

    • ya know, i dunno. will have to try again and do a halitosis check. hahahaha

      joann

      November 19, 2009 at 12:55 am

  2. Doubt I would ever find those flavor over where I’m at. I would sample it even if it’s not as good.

    (( Ms. K. ))

    November 9, 2009 at 3:54 am

  3. i personally tried all of them
    i loved the seaweed the best

    abi

    November 10, 2009 at 11:32 am

    • hmmm maybe i’ll try that one after all!

      joann

      November 19, 2009 at 12:56 am

  4. can u get these in california, in what store?

    Tiffany

    January 30, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    • ive never seen them. your best bet are the big asian grocers like ranch 99. gluck!

      joann

      January 31, 2010 at 10:15 pm

  5. hey, ive seen a new flavor of pringles in singapore. its called ‘blueberry and hazelnuts’ and ‘lemon and sesame’. erm if u dont believe me, just email me and i can send u a pict.

    passer

    March 19, 2010 at 6:18 pm


Leave a Reply

