rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

malaysian airlines, sin to syd

with 2 comments

I’m back from Sydney and taking all of Sunday to recuperate from the fun times and the red eye flight. I came home to a super clean apartment courtesy of the parents and aunt who visited last week (we both left last Monday – them to the Philippines and me to Sydney). It was so nice of them to tidy up my lil’ crib.

Sadly, I only have a few Sydney posts (one of which is not food related) lined up. Certainly less than what I had thought I would come back with, but it was a fun trip nonetheless.

Let’s start off with the flights, yes? I took Malaysian Airlines because they had a deal for Singapore to Sydney for SGD600 – even less than the budget airlines.

malaysianair3

My first impression of MH (the airline code for Malaysian Airlines) was ho-hum. They flew a small Boeing from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur which was quite old. All of the seats were different colors – orange, blue, red, green. The result was more fiesta than anything else.

I had one regular meal and one snack sized meal on each journey. From KL to Sydney they offered up chicken and rice  or fish and pasta. By the time they got to me they were chicken-less so I ended up with the fish. It looked gross. Two big chunks of fish plus some squidgy looking pasta with some pale veggies. As airplane food goes this was surprisingly not bad.

The sauce was creamy but had enough lemon to not make it too heavy. The fish was not overly fishy either. The side was a chicken salad and for dessert were three Ferrero Rocher bonbons. They also served the tastiest ginger ale I’ve had in awhile.

malaysianair

Before I get into the meal on my return flight, I have to tell you that I was super confused for a hot minute. The e-ticket that I have says that my flight goes SYD-KUL-SIN. When I got to the airport, all of the monitor showed Brisbane as the destination of my flight. Say wha?

Apparently, my flight was transiting through Brisbane. We flew for an hour, deplaned, sat around for another hour, then got back on for the rest of our flight. That’s so weird that they can do that. This is made more annoying because this means my trip was sandwiched with two hour long flights on each end. Tack that on to the fact that you’re flying in the middle of the night and you have the most inconvenient red eye in the history of the world.

The meal on Brisbane to KL was solid though. Simply cooked chicken, potatoes, and veggies in a light gravy, a pesto pasta salad, and some crackers and cheese. For dessert, a mini Cadbury milk candy bar. I really prefer airplane meals that are straightforward like this. Again, more tasty ginger ale.

malaysianair2

On both flights the small snack was breakfasty – granola bars, yogurt, and, on the return leg, a buttery white chocolate and raspberry muffin.

The service on MH is alright. Not super noticeable nice like on Singapore Airlines (although they wear similar outfits – MH’s are not nearly as snug fitting and, like their planes, look a bit on the older side) but more pleasant than your average American airline. On the longer hauls everyone had personal entertainment systems. It says ‘Video on Demand’ but it’s an older system that play all of the movies on different channels so you end up catching some movies midway through.

My flight to Sydney was on a larger plane with a 3-4-3 seat configuration. My area of the plan was about half full (on a Tuesday night) and plenty of people had entire rows to themselves (me included). My flight from Sydney to Singapore was on a smaller plan with a 2-4-2 layout. It was about 90% full on a Saturday evening.

I wouldn’t mind taking MH again but having to fly through KL is a bit of a pain so unless they are rockin’ a good deal I’d stick to other carriers.

Written by joann

November 15, 2009 at 5:48 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. anything is more pleasant than American airlines, which don’t feed you unless you pay. Ad sometimes won’t even give you a whole can of soda. 😦

    jodi

    November 16, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    • sigh, stick with the asian airlines. they treat ya pretty nice.

      joann

      November 19, 2009 at 12:54 am


Leave a Reply

