rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

from sydney with love

with 4 comments

Blargh. This week has been ROUGH. All you can do is power through, dust yourself off, say a prayer, hope for the best, and stare at the pretty pictures you bought in Australia last week.

As always I have no respect for chronological order and am doing my posts in a timeless disarray. There’s a point though. These pretty pictures are bringing some peace and contentment to a rocky week. For all yous peeps out there suffering from the ugh-what-else-is-gonna-suck-this-week blues, my heart and my wombat go out to you.

I had most of Saturday to myself in Sydney last week. Since I was going in a completely different direction on a different airline, my flight times were way off of the homies. After they all went California-bound, I had 7 hours all to myself to mosey around and see Sydney before my own jet plane took off towards the equator. I roamed Darling Harbour, checked out the Sydney Aquarium, and then continued on my quest for art.

I’m by no means an art collector. I mostly buy stuff so that my future home will be filled with the memories of my past travels. In Cambodia I bought a watercolor of an elephant with the Bayon temple in the background. In Vietnam I grabbed two pieces of paper art just because I had never seen anything like that before. In Bali I bought a water buffalo with a mangosteen on its head and a frog with a watermelon on its head painted on sandpaper.

Yes, that’s right. A frog with a watermelon its head. That’s the kind of girl I am.

Anyway, where was I? Quest for art. I considered some pieces with the Opera House, a kangaroo, a koala, the Harbour Bridge on it but I didn’t looooove any of them. I even tried the Contemporary Art Museum which btw has the dinkiest store ever. My roaming eventually led me to the weekend market at the Rocks and to StudioOat.

I love these like I love my wombat.

StudioOat is an Australian illustration and graphics studio. All of their prints come with an accompanying story or poem. I can’t really explain why I like them so much. I just do. I saw them and decided I would like to gaze at them foheva. This one is called “Sun Light”. The peach background kinda reeled me in first. Look a little closer though…

There’s a sun growing. It represents hope.

The cage is open because hope sets you free!

Hope and freedom give you bliss. Cute, huh?

This one is called “Freeing Love” and it’s super simple.

Just you on the top of lil’ mountain releasing lots of lil’ paper cranes into the universe.

Last one is called “Autumn Birds” it’s part of a series. I picked this one because of the story.

Most of the birds are facing left – lookin’ towards the past. The print is supposed to represent autumn as the time in your life that you’re happy with all of your experiences and the person that you’ve become. Kinda like embracing the path you’ve taken in life.

One bird faces right. Love looks towards the future. Cute again!

Each of these prints are limited edition and were AUD100 (including the matting). They are each 11 x 22. You can catch StudioOat at the weekend markets at the Rocks, Bondi, and Paddington. They also have a few prints up for sale on their website as well as pictures of previous limited editions on their Facebook page. Check them out if you’re in the neighborhood.

If you’re wondering, the wombat’s name is Wombat and he’s from the souvenir shop at Blue Mountain in Katoomba. He now resides in Singapore.

Written by joann

November 19, 2009 at 12:52 am

Posted in travels

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow…I love those prints. No clue why. Thanks for the link. *sad* I imagine the shipping is killer-horrible

    jodi

    November 21, 2009 at 11:49 am

    • aren’t they the cutest??

      joann

      January 17, 2010 at 2:50 am

  2. i thought we named the wombat… wom bat dan aka ass hole in chinese =)

    jeff

    December 8, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    • jeffrey, that is definitely NOT wombat’s name. tsk tsk

      joann

      January 17, 2010 at 2:51 am


Leave a Reply

