rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

versailles, los angeles

with one comment

I try to limit  my nostalgic restaurant requests when I’m in LA. I don’t want to use up all my food time eating at old haunts when I know my friends have new favorites to introduce me to. Nevertheless, the oldies are still goodies and I like to squeeze one in while I’m in town.

This time around we went to Versailles. This one is on Venice which is reasonably close to good ol’ UCLA.

The name suggests French food but actually the place is Cuban through and through.

Let’s take a trip down memory lane.

Versailles was one of those places we’d hit up for big group dinners after Samahang meetings or after PCN practice. Just the smell of the garlic chicken makes me feel like putting on track pants and a UCLA hoodie and cutting my hair into a bob.

Yummy roasted skin, moist chicken, and a lemony, garlicky sauce topped with the zing of raw onions. I split this with Jer since there was no way that I would be able to finish an entire half chicken on my own.

Jer likes his rice and beans all mixed up but they usually come separate.

I think I prefer them separate only because the black beans are so so good and saucy on their own.

My favorite part of the dish are the plantains. They have a thick layer of caramelization and are nicely sweet but always have a hint of savoriness since they share the space with your chicken.

Service is always friendly and prices are easy on the wallet – the chicken is an easy $10.95.

Versailles: 10319 Venice Blvd., Los Angeles, California 90034

Written by joann

January 27, 2010 at 7:00 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I live right behind this place :). My husband promised to take me to this place for dinner and thats yet to happen…

    Anu Menon

    July 15, 2010 at 4:13 am


Leave a Reply

