rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

craving of the day: budbud kabog

with 3 comments

Suman, budbud kabog, whatevah. Who knows what to call it, the point is it’s delicious and I could use one rightnowthisminute.

Each of these babies is PHP30 (less than SGD1, roughly 65 US cents) at the Salcedo Market which is open every Saturday in Makati. More on that later, let’s focus on today’s craving.

Before we get down to it, let me explain what this is. Suman is glutinous rice cooked in coconut milk wrapped in banana leaf and then steamed. Traditionally, it is not flavored. Instead, they are cooked plain and then dipped in sugar and grated coconut. The fancy thing about this suman is that it’s made with millet so the consistency is different. This company is making waves for making these babies in different flavors.

I picked two flavors – tsoklate (chocolate) and ube langka (purple yam and jackfruit).

Since it was morning, I ate the tsoklate first. Chocolate? In the morning? At the stand they call this flavor champorado which, if you recall, is a breakfast dish. Sooooo my choice totally makes sense. Chocolate in the morning. That’s how it’s done.

You can’t tell in this picture but the chocolate is mixed with plain budbud kabog to mimic how you add milk to champorado. Still don’t remember?

I loooove the consistency of this. Regular suman can actually be quite firm but this is much softer. It gives a good stretch and a nice chew.

I saved the other one and put it in the coldest part of my fridge. A week or so later I set it up with some quality time with my microwave and moments later it was piping hot and delicious as the day I bought it.

Luckily, there was no weirdness in texture after having been refrigerated. I like the mix of the purple ube and the yellow langka. Like the chocolate one it wasn’t too sweet at all. I think though that they can go a little further with the flavoring on these and make the chocolate more chocolatey and the ube more ubey.

Here’s their selection out on their tasting board. There’s mango flavored, ginger, jackfruit, and others.

I could use one of these today. Drool.

Written by joann

March 21, 2010 at 8:50 pm

Posted in dessert, filipino, philippines, travels

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i love the Mango!!!
    hey are you based in singapore? we should grab a bite together:) email me

    mike

    April 28, 2010 at 11:21 pm

  2. I stumbled upon your site while trying to find out if MOSburger will get their act together and open a chain in the US. I’ve been reading all night. I’m now in the 2008 archives, and STILL reading! Your blog makes me miss Singapore like crazy! Anyway, I RSSed your blog and can’t wait to read more!

    Cherie

    August 6, 2010 at 12:37 am

    • sorry for my super late response cherie! im glad you enjoyed the posts. đŸ™‚

      joann

      October 18, 2010 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

