rice cake confessional

adventures in eating

hi, hey, hello

with 2 comments

It’s been a million years, I know. Last time I blogged I was doing it from my white Ikea couch in my British colonial manor home turned studio apartment in Singapore. The air conditioning was at a crisp 25C and I was probably noshing on some mangosteens and goldfish crackers.

Nowadays? Well, right now I’m sitting in a cushy new queen sized bed in my very grown up townhouse back in the Bay Area. Sadly, no more mangosteens but I still have the goldfish crackers so that’s a nice vote for consistency. A lot has happened in the last 6 months. I went to the Philippines, Belfast, London, and back to the Philippines, I packed up everything I held dear to me (mostly bags, shoes, and clothes), and moved it all back to the Bay Area. I was halfway tortured by my overly adorable goddaughter and her equally sweet sister for 3 months while crashing at the cousins, and I did what big girls do and bought my own place. Slowly but surely we’re filling it up with furniture in anticipation of future dinner parties and soirees (ok, no soirees because I’m not that fancy).

Truth be told, after being airplane-free for 3 months I’m dead bored. My dear, trusty passport feels neglected, my luggage is confused, and I can barely remember the last time my ears popped. If I could, I would give Asia a great, big fat hug. I would commit crimes for a steaming bowl of bak kut teh, I’m collecting the courage to try my hand at marmite pork ribs, and I sometimes dream of butter crab. I’m going through life-in-Asia withdrawal and let me tell you – it ain’t pretty. I figure going back to blogging will be like therapy. I’ll look through some pictures, remember some great memories, and motivate myself to recreate some of those flavors. I will probably shed a tear or two or 75 and I’ll gain a few pounds from the non-satisfiable cravings that will set in, but I’ll also get to share.

And as Sophie, my crazy 3 year old niece told me while I was making my way through a pack of pretzel M&Ms: sharing is caring. Kids are so smart these days.

Over the next few weeks: a trip down memory lane and, if I’m feeling particularly inspired and remember my camera, a trip down some new lanes.

xoxo,

Joann

Written by joann

October 18, 2010 at 12:52 pm

Posted in blah blah blah

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. a big huge yayyy now that you are back!!! 🙂

    nags

    October 21, 2010 at 7:00 am

    • now let’s see if i can stay back! 😀

      joann

      October 21, 2010 at 12:55 pm


Leave a Reply

